Tammy's Philly Cheese Steak Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this with Steak Ums like some of the other reviewers, that was a mistake! It was really greasy and nasty. I tasted it before adding the (drained) meat and liked it, so I'm going to try again with real roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used one ginormous red bell pepper (we don't care for green bell pepper), the last dredges of a bottle of Newman's italian dressing (it was around a half cup, I didn't measure.....I was in a hurry), reduced fat cream cheese/mayonnaise and I upped the roast beef to a full pound. I didn't have time to throw it in a baking pan, I just tossed everything into my small crockpot and let it go until we got back home at noon. Boys literally inhaled this in less than twenty minutes. I served it with day-old toasted bread and Wheat Thins. HUGE hit. Next time I might increase the provolone, but it's not hugely necessary. They loved it regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This dip is great!!! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. It truly taste like a real cheese steak. I made it for a party and everyone gobbled it up. I actually prefer it served with the hoagie buns. I thought this was such a clever idea to make a sandwich out of a dip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Really really good. I had to substitute some things because I realized I had no Italian dressing so I used olive oil, red wine vinegar, basil, oregano. garlic and black pepper. The results were awesome. When I took it out of the even there was a layer of grease on the top but I placed a paper towel over it for a few minutes and it absorbed all the excess oil nicely. I don't know if that was because of subbing oil for dressing but the taste was awesome. I definately want to try it with the Italian dressing but it was yummy as I made it. I served it with garlic bagel chips and Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really, really enjoyed this recipe! I realized that I only had light zesty italian dressing and went with it anyways, and it turned out GREAT! I did replace the roast beef with thin sliced steaks that I cooked ahead of time and chopped up (for a more authentic taste). I will definately be making this again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Ver Good recipe. I used Steak-Ums and added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! The only thing I do different is add the chopped roast beef in the skillet when cooking the onion and green pepper. I prefer my roast beef browned. I follow everything else exactly and it comes out great every time! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I too add garlic but followed everything else. Delicious with crusty bread or pretzel rolls! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELE4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was an ok dip. I used steakums and found that it was greasy. Would not make again. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This is a great way to use up leftover roast beef! I didn't have green peppers(have indigestion issues with them...UGH!) and subbed yellow and red and orange peppers (I know, not too far off but for us they are a bit milder) and they worked out very well. Used mozzarella because thats what I had but will definitely try with provolone next time as the recipe states...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States