Tammy's Philly Cheese Steak Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this dip exactly as written for a veterans day gathering and was very disappointed. Very surprised when I put it in a 2 qt dish and it only filled it about half way. I thought there wouldn't possibly be enough for the 50 or so guests I was expecting, but there were actually leftovers. Wasn't anything special and won't make it again. I am not a tough food critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
looks delicious ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made this today for a small gathering. Added more roast beef and substituted chopped up red peppers instead of the green. Served with slices of French bread, amazing and a real keeper, people were even eating it without the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made as directed, this is not very good. It is oily (mayo & Italian dressing) and gooey (provolone cheese). So gooey that it is impossible to dip. I tried making this again with modifications, and it was much better. Substituted mozzarella for the provolone, sour cream for the mayo, and Montreal Steak seasoning (2T) for the dressing. For the meat, I found John Soules Foods Angus Beef Steak strips in the freezer section at Walmart. I chopped the steak strips and cooked them in a skillet with the green pepper and onion for 5 minutes before adding the mixture to the rest of the ingredients in a crock pot. This was delicious. I will make this dip again with modifications. I really wanted to like the original recipe, but it just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday for a football party and it was a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly using roast beef from the deli. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was pretty good. I did make some minor changes based on my taste - I used 1-1/2 C of onions and no green peppers. I could barely taste the onions so I will probably do both the next time I make it. While this was very good, it was also very rich. I think it is fine "as is" for a potluck but if I make it again for my personal consumption I will probably replace the provelone with mozzarella and the mayo with sour cream. It was also not a thick as I was expecting. It definitely was not runny but I will probably add more roast beef the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is a wonderful dip. I used low fat ingredients. When I made this I used low fat cream cheese, light mayo and light for fat free italian dressing. Also used deli roast beef. My favorite is Deitz and Watson sliced roast beef. Not only is it easy but its healthier. Soo yummy!! Great for football games. Go Steelers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was a really good dip, I loved it, 2 of my children loved it although I have one that doesn't want to try anything. I just wouldn't call this Philly Cheese Steak Dip as it is so far from a real Philly Cheese Steak...although the taste is definitely awesome and I will keep this to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was ok, the flavor of the meat and peppers wasn't as strong as I thought it would be. But it was something different and I'm glad I tried it. I wonder if it would taste better if assembled the night before to give the flavors a longer time to blend before baking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Really hate to write negative review on a recipe so highly rated but this was not great! Used left over roast beef and followed the rest to a T- Made a lot and had a lot left over after the super bowl....Had a hard time throwing it away but leftovers were worse than original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States