Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I make a veggie version by sauteing a chopped onion, green pepper, and a can of whole kernel corn together, then adding 2 cans of pinto or black beans and cooking until beans begin to become thick and start to fall apart a little. After I put the beans on top, I push a whole green olive (pitted) through into the lower crust every few inches throughout the pie. To me green olives add a LOT to this recipe, though kids might not be fans. I love tamale pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this for my two teenage sons and they loved it. I added a little cumin and chili powder to the meat/sauce mixture to give it a bit more flavor. We had a little leftover and it tasted better the next day..... TIP:Don't cook cornmeal too long, it will get too thick and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was really good! I'm going to try it with chicken next time and add some shredded cheddar to the cornbread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Good recipe. I used Marie Calendar's Corn Bread mix instead of the cornmeal and also added cumin to the recipe. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERCAT99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Here is the modifications I made: I only used the evaporated milk with 3/4 cup of cornmeal. I also used half a bunch green onions in the meat mixture. It's very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Great recipe! I spiced it up a bit by adding a serrano and jalapeno pepper to the filling, as well as a little cumin and extra garlic. Quick and tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Kind of bland, my family just thought it was okay, I think maybe the cornmeal needed to be kicked up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3EEES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Have made it twice now and both turned out wonderful! This last go round I used left over grilled chicken (diced), and put jalepeno peppers in the cornbread mixture. Wonderful dish especially for those night you haven't alot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Hall, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
The meat mixture is the only thing good about this recipe. The cornmeal mixture is way too much. I think if would be much better if you were to just make the cornmeal according to regular cornbread directions. My husband hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Nice flavor, but sort of plain. I will spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States