Tamale Pie Pronto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
yummy but we don't have bisquits or jiffy cornbread mix here in France so, I just made some quick-cook polenta instead and upped the seasoning with more garlic and chillies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very tasty. Made it in large muffin tins and it came out great. (just be sure not to overfill as biscuit on bottom will expand) Note to self: Use 2 teaspoons cumin instead of chili powder, 2 lb ground beef, one pack of sazon to season meat while cooking, sofrito (about 4 Tbs.) instead of ketchup and rotel in place of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was soooo YUMMY!! I did make a few changes but nothing to crazy it would alter it all that much: I made the ground beef added some spices, added canned black beans ( instead of Chili... cause I did not have any ) canned corn and Rotel tomatoes with green chillis ( instead of the chopped tomatoes ) and still added the canned tomatoe sauce. I did not add the biscuits as bottom crust I added it as a Top crust, ( cause honestly I did not read it correctly and was cooking in a hurry) But it was pretty close to one of the best casserole dishes I have ever made!! maybe next time I'll make it as it says to, Chilli beans sound yummy too! Kids love it!! with a dollop of Sour cream Oh So Good!! KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good!! I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Biscuits were still doughy after 25 minutes, but cheese was browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was really good! I did sub 2 boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix (prepared as per box) for the biscuits. I used Green Giant Mexican Style corn. I also added chopped chili peppers,cumin, and garlic powder to the recipe, kept everything else as is. Def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good! I used ground turkey, added carrots, and Jiffy cornbread mix(instead of biscuit dough)on top, no cheese. Seasoned with cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Tasty dish and quick to make. I did make some changes as I wanted more of an Italian-style dish. Check out my custom version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight, and it was great! Nothing fancy, but super quick and easy...definitely good on a cold night (the few we have in Florida!). I varied just a little bit after reading other reviews - substituted a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles for the chopped tomatoes, added a little garlic powder, cumin, and a touch of cayenne. We will most definitely be keeping this recipe on hand, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Codez
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I used diced chicken vs ground beef just because that is what I had thawed. I subbed in a can of Rotel for the regular can of chopped tomatoes since I love the flavor/spice but I did totally leave out the ketchup. I just didn’t think it belonged for my taste. Very good! I will make this again!! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Codez

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States