Tamale Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
A great basic recipe! Instead of the meat I sauteed 1lb tofu in soy sauce & paprika to taste & also put in some sliced mushrooms. Didn't have any chili powder so we used garlic salt and some fresh ground black pepper. When I do it again I'll double the amount of corn meal & water and maybe add some fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made this because I had the ingredients handy! I continue to make it because everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is a good basic recipe, but I customized it quite a bit! First, I used 1 lb. ground beef, and sauteed it with the onions, bell peppers, and 3 cloves of garlic plus salt & pepper. Then I added one can of rinsed black beans, about 2/3 cup of frozen corn kernels, and instead of the tomatoes and chili seasonings I substituted one small (15 oz) can of mild enchilada sauce. I also added a small can of sliced black olives. The enchilada sauce gives this dish a lot more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
5 stars with changes of coarse. I cooked this in my cast iron skillet so I could just use 1 pot. I sauteed my onion and garlic and then added my groud sirlion with 1 packet of taco seasoning. I drained 2 cans of rotel and put it in my food processor until it was smooth. I added this to my beef mixture. After this simmered for awhile, I added 1 can of kidney beans with jalapenos and 1 can of mexi-corn, we like spice! So I added 2 chipotle peppers that were in adobo sauce. I previously made bean and cheese "tamales" using Sandra Lee's recipe from Food Network. So I used her corn meal recipe: 2 cups yellow corn meal, 1/2 stick butter softened, 1 chicken stock, 1tsp baking powder. Mash up the butter in the corn meal, add stock and BP. I added, salt, pepper and chili powder as well. This was the perfect amount to spread over the beef/bean/corn mixture. Spread it evenly so it creates a perfectly thin layer. I spread the corn meal mixture over and baked 350 for 20 minutes and then sprinkled cheese on top and let bake 10 more minutes. This was so good. I must add that I did add a few sprinkles of corn meal to my filling because it was a little too mushy & watery. So if you have that problem just add corn meal or flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Good! Added more cornmeal, added cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattaroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Just one word: outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Beller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Made Hot Tamales from scratchand a lot of work! This recipe sounds great with less time! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Yum... Using the recipe for inspiration I did make the following tweaks. I added some cumin, black beans along with drained corn, subbed hot salsa for the tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's for the bell pepper and I used two boxes of corn bread mix which I divided for both top and bottom crust. Baked at 375 for about 25 min. in a cast iron skillet; added cheese & baked until melted. I didn't get the mushy crust some complained of. My guys liked it with sour cream on top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Iuse this to help remind of some of the function of meal. grandma made. This is good recipe, HOWEVER, I did change a few things. 1. yellow corn (put in skillet warm and stir till thick) 2. corn meal on bottom (cooked for 10 mins - let cool then add the meat or tufu) * box directions. Now Grandma touch added 2 TSP of white sugar to meal and I 1tsp of oil (any kind) to mix. Measure meal so have even top and bottom dontworry about thin look it will thicken. Enjoy Smooches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redchoclick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used a small can of green chillies instead of green pepper and I used a tablespoon of taco seasoning for one of the two tablespoons of chilli powder. The family loved it! Easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States