Tamale Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I really like this recipe with these changes: use a 10x13 pan. Increase corn meal to 1-1/2 cups. I also like to add a few TBS of butter to the mix, but not necessary. Add 1 cup of black olives to meat mixture and put cheddar cheese into the meat mixture. Let meat simmer for 15 minutes before putting it into pan. (I also add a bit more tomato sauce because of the simmer time) We also like it spicier so I increase the chili pepper to taste. Also add 2 tsp sugar or splenda. Put meat mixture into empty pan and top with the corn meal mixture. Bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is a good basic recipe, but I customized it quite a bit! First, I used 1 lb. ground beef, and sauteed it with the onions, bell peppers, and 3 cloves of garlic plus salt & pepper. Then I added one can of rinsed black beans, about 2/3 cup of frozen corn kernels, and instead of the tomatoes and chili seasonings I substituted one small (15 oz) can of mild enchilada sauce. I also added a small can of sliced black olives. The enchilada sauce gives this dish a lot more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This recipe is too bland and all Tamale pie recipe's need either black olives or green stuffed olives to add some pazzaz! We used creamed corn CUMIN and CHILLI Pepper to taste! Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
5 stars with changes of coarse. I cooked this in my cast iron skillet so I could just use 1 pot. I sauteed my onion and garlic and then added my groud sirlion with 1 packet of taco seasoning. I drained 2 cans of rotel and put it in my food processor until it was smooth. I added this to my beef mixture. After this simmered for awhile, I added 1 can of kidney beans with jalapenos and 1 can of mexi-corn, we like spice! So I added 2 chipotle peppers that were in adobo sauce. I previously made bean and cheese "tamales" using Sandra Lee's recipe from Food Network. So I used her corn meal recipe: 2 cups yellow corn meal, 1/2 stick butter softened, 1 chicken stock, 1tsp baking powder. Mash up the butter in the corn meal, add stock and BP. I added, salt, pepper and chili powder as well. This was the perfect amount to spread over the beef/bean/corn mixture. Spread it evenly so it creates a perfectly thin layer. I spread the corn meal mixture over and baked 350 for 20 minutes and then sprinkled cheese on top and let bake 10 more minutes. This was so good. I must add that I did add a few sprinkles of corn meal to my filling because it was a little too mushy & watery. So if you have that problem just add corn meal or flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made this because I had the ingredients handy! I continue to make it because everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I really like Tamale Pie and I had a very good recipe that got lost when I moved. Add some black olives to this recipe and it will get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I must admit-I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. I hadn't made this recipe for several years, and forgot which one I had used in the past. I noticed some people made comments about the amount of water. I'm assuming that must be the problem. After 35 minutes of baking as instructions said, I ended up with beef filling inside a bunch of cornmeal mush. I was only able to salvage this by baking my own cornbread, removing as much filling as possible, and serving that over the cornbread as a crust. I would not suggest trying this unless someone can properly correct the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
A great basic recipe! Instead of the meat I sauteed 1lb tofu in soy sauce & paprika to taste & also put in some sliced mushrooms. Didn't have any chili powder so we used garlic salt and some fresh ground black pepper. When I do it again I'll double the amount of corn meal & water and maybe add some fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Yum... Using the recipe for inspiration I did make the following tweaks. I added some cumin, black beans along with drained corn, subbed hot salsa for the tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's for the bell pepper and I used two boxes of corn bread mix which I divided for both top and bottom crust. Baked at 375 for about 25 min. in a cast iron skillet; added cheese & baked until melted. I didn't get the mushy crust some complained of. My guys liked it with sour cream on top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
We were very disappointed in this recipe. It was soggy, unflavorful and the cornmeal did not make this recipe. It ended up being mush and would not form. I would not reccomend this for anyone. Sorry~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States