Tamale Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Just one word: outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
A great basic recipe! Instead of the meat I sauteed 1lb tofu in soy sauce & paprika to taste & also put in some sliced mushrooms. Didn't have any chili powder so we used garlic salt and some fresh ground black pepper. When I do it again I'll double the amount of corn meal & water and maybe add some fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I was disappointed with this recipe. The corn meal mush never cooked into a crust.. it stayed mushy even after cooking it for nearly an hour. The filling was very good but the mushy cornmeal mixture took away from that. I will probably make the filling again but do something else for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This was the most awfull recipe I have ever gotten off this site. We LOVE mexican food but this dish was awfull I had to dump it and cook a frozen pizza (not impressed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I made this because I had the ingredients handy! I continue to make it because everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
IMHO this was terrible. Too much corny stuff, not enough meat and flavor. My husband hated it, and I ate it because it was there. Maybe I just don't like cornmeal as much as I thought I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I really like this recipe with these changes: use a 10x13 pan. Increase corn meal to 1-1/2 cups. I also like to add a few TBS of butter to the mix, but not necessary. Add 1 cup of black olives to meat mixture and put cheddar cheese into the meat mixture. Let meat simmer for 15 minutes before putting it into pan. (I also add a bit more tomato sauce because of the simmer time) We also like it spicier so I increase the chili pepper to taste. Also add 2 tsp sugar or splenda. Put meat mixture into empty pan and top with the corn meal mixture. Bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
We were very disappointed in this recipe. It was soggy, unflavorful and the cornmeal did not make this recipe. It ended up being mush and would not form. I would not reccomend this for anyone. Sorry~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
easy recipe kids loved it, lots of room to play around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is a hearty meal that needs a little pep. Add chili flakes, salsa, and roasted chili peppers to add more flavor. Also go heavy on the cheese. Not a bad base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States