Tamale Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I've been cooking for 40 years and I gotta tell you this was the worst tamale pie recipe I have ever tried. Turned out like a bowl of mush and wouldn't NOT recommend it to anyone. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Family enjoyed this recipe. I changed the recipe for smaller amount and used a pork roast. Taco bell mild sauce for the tomatoe base but still added the chili powder. Just quicker for an easy dinner on busy nights
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Made Hot Tamales from scratchand a lot of work! This recipe sounds great with less time! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Ok as a jumping off point, but needs a little something else. "Tamale" part of the pie was too bland. I changed it the second time and use yellow cornmeal w/ a cornbread recipe and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This recipe is too bland and all Tamale pie recipe's need either black olives or green stuffed olives to add some pazzaz! We used creamed corn CUMIN and CHILLI Pepper to taste! Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I found this version of Tamale Pie a little bland and very watery which I attribute to adding the canned corn undrained. Next time I would definately drain the corn and add some chopped jalepenos or maybe a dash or two of cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is a hearty meal that needs a little pep. Add chili flakes, salsa, and roasted chili peppers to add more flavor. Also go heavy on the cheese. Not a bad base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
easy recipe kids loved it, lots of room to play around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
We were very disappointed in this recipe. It was soggy, unflavorful and the cornmeal did not make this recipe. It ended up being mush and would not form. I would not reccomend this for anyone. Sorry~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I really like this recipe with these changes: use a 10x13 pan. Increase corn meal to 1-1/2 cups. I also like to add a few TBS of butter to the mix, but not necessary. Add 1 cup of black olives to meat mixture and put cheddar cheese into the meat mixture. Let meat simmer for 15 minutes before putting it into pan. (I also add a bit more tomato sauce because of the simmer time) We also like it spicier so I increase the chili pepper to taste. Also add 2 tsp sugar or splenda. Put meat mixture into empty pan and top with the corn meal mixture. Bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States