Tamale Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Most of this dish was fine except I think I was expecting the cornmeal to end up more like breading instead of mush. Perhaps I did something wrong? But I think to get a real cornbread texture you'd have to add oil, egg, etc. I loved the filling so next time I will do that and just use a cornbread mix to spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used a small can of green chillies instead of green pepper and I used a tablespoon of taco seasoning for one of the two tablespoons of chilli powder. The family loved it! Easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I liked this recipe overall but I do have to agree with many of the other reviews that the cornmeal is a bit too much mush for my enjoyment. I even used about a third less than the recipe called for and put it in the oven to bake while I was making the filling. My husband also said he'd prefer if the cornmeal was a bit more sweet and not so bland. So yes I'll use this recipe again but I will probably leave out the bottom part of the cornmeal and just put it on the top with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This recipe was not nearly as good as I hoped. Like other reviewers, my husband and I found this to be BLAND! Also the bottom of the "crust" was very soggy. This recipe has a ton of potential but will need a great deal of modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOlough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is a good basic recipe, but I customized it quite a bit! First, I used 1 lb. ground beef, and sauteed it with the onions, bell peppers, and 3 cloves of garlic plus salt & pepper. Then I added one can of rinsed black beans, about 2/3 cup of frozen corn kernels, and instead of the tomatoes and chili seasonings I substituted one small (15 oz) can of mild enchilada sauce. I also added a small can of sliced black olives. The enchilada sauce gives this dish a lot more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe to start with. My family enjoyed it as is, but I'd like to play with it a little to get a more "tamale taste". I'm wondering if using masa instead of white cornmeal will work. My only issue with the original recipe is that the cornmeal part was a little bland, and it did not fit in a 2 qt. casserole dish. Needed a bigger one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made two minor changes. Omitted the cheese and added 1/2 cup diced olives. It was good and I and my 5 yr old daughter enjoyed (surprise!) it but not amazing to me. It lacked complexity of seasoning flavor... the chili was dominant, I will probably try to find one that I love... but might make it again, an ordinary pie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I haven't actually made this yet but have been reading the reviews. I plan on using yellow polenta for the crust, not white cornmeal. I agree Tamale Pie needs big fat black olives. Also, before I pour on the polenta topping, you might want to lay down slices of pepper jack cheese and then pour the polenta over the casserole. Polenta will firm up and set very well. Just a thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I really like Tamale Pie and I had a very good recipe that got lost when I moved. Add some black olives to this recipe and it will get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I must admit-I was VERY disappointed with this recipe. I hadn't made this recipe for several years, and forgot which one I had used in the past. I noticed some people made comments about the amount of water. I'm assuming that must be the problem. After 35 minutes of baking as instructions said, I ended up with beef filling inside a bunch of cornmeal mush. I was only able to salvage this by baking my own cornbread, removing as much filling as possible, and serving that over the cornbread as a crust. I would not suggest trying this unless someone can properly correct the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States