Tamale Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed the instructions and it did not turn out. Maybe with modifications it'd be good, but in my opinion most of the listed modifications make this recipe into a completely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Guess what I really want is a Mexican Casserole served OVER cornbread not as part of the recipe. So that is what we did. Changed some spices to personal tastes and added ripe olives. Served sour cream on the side. WITH MY CHANGES give this 4 stars and will make again. Not a true rate & review of THIS recipe, but see that others didn't like mushy cornbread either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This is on the right track, but isn't quite right. The picture makes it look great, but if you read the review that goes with it, you discover the crust pictured is a completely different recipe all together. The "crust" in this recipe is mushy and flavorless, better eaten in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Good! Added more cornmeal, added cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattaroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was just ok. The meat filling was really tasty but the cornbread topping was not good at all. It was a good starting point for me, being my first tamale pie. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MainStMo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I love tamale pie. This version wasnt for me, cooked as directed came out more like tamale soup. Very watery and not much flavor. Since im only a beginer-intermediate i followed directions very closley. Very hot in the directions doesnt mean much, should be simmer till almost all liquid is gone. I also think the cornmeal should be baked before adding the stuffing to make it more "waterproof". I did like (being a guy) the heavy beef proportion to the amount of cornmeal. Will tweak and try again. WHOO HOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I did not care for this recipe at all. I know I'm not that good at cooking but I can follow a recipe and when it was done it was like soup and the cornbread part never cooked. Use the modifications other people have posted that had success because following the recipe does not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyP325

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Yum... Using the recipe for inspiration I did make the following tweaks. I added some cumin, black beans along with drained corn, subbed hot salsa for the tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's for the bell pepper and I used two boxes of corn bread mix which I divided for both top and bottom crust. Baked at 375 for about 25 min. in a cast iron skillet; added cheese & baked until melted. I didn't get the mushy crust some complained of. My guys liked it with sour cream on top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Iuse this to help remind of some of the function of meal. grandma made. This is good recipe, HOWEVER, I did change a few things. 1. yellow corn (put in skillet warm and stir till thick) 2. corn meal on bottom (cooked for 10 mins - let cool then add the meat or tufu) * box directions. Now Grandma touch added 2 TSP of white sugar to meal and I 1tsp of oil (any kind) to mix. Measure meal so have even top and bottom dontworry about thin look it will thicken. Enjoy Smooches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redchoclick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
5 stars with changes of coarse. I cooked this in my cast iron skillet so I could just use 1 pot. I sauteed my onion and garlic and then added my groud sirlion with 1 packet of taco seasoning. I drained 2 cans of rotel and put it in my food processor until it was smooth. I added this to my beef mixture. After this simmered for awhile, I added 1 can of kidney beans with jalapenos and 1 can of mexi-corn, we like spice! So I added 2 chipotle peppers that were in adobo sauce. I previously made bean and cheese "tamales" using Sandra Lee's recipe from Food Network. So I used her corn meal recipe: 2 cups yellow corn meal, 1/2 stick butter softened, 1 chicken stock, 1tsp baking powder. Mash up the butter in the corn meal, add stock and BP. I added, salt, pepper and chili powder as well. This was the perfect amount to spread over the beef/bean/corn mixture. Spread it evenly so it creates a perfectly thin layer. I spread the corn meal mixture over and baked 350 for 20 minutes and then sprinkled cheese on top and let bake 10 more minutes. This was so good. I must add that I did add a few sprinkles of corn meal to my filling because it was a little too mushy & watery. So if you have that problem just add corn meal or flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States