Tamale Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Yum! This is delicious. Only changes I made were to use ground turkey and fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned. Maybe that's why it isnt mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe has everything a man wants !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I made this for my New spouse and found it very dull without the CHILLI POWDER OR ANY OTHER SEASONING! Maybe she just forgot to add seasoning??? I added Chilli Powder and lots of it and Cumin and Tumeric. Also WHOLE olives NEVER cut them up as that is what makes it good or just half them. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this recipe but made the corn bread batter and poured it over the top. My family liked it so much I made two pans and both were gone in one sitting. Wow what an awesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanky63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This turned out very nice! and not dry at all. Very moist inside, crusty on top, did not stick to the dish at all and satisfied everybody's taste. A bit bland yes, and that might be partly because of the canned olives I used, which had no taste. I suspect fresh olives will improve this pie. As a word of caution, some people may get stomach pains if the cornmeal has not been cooked long enough, so if you are sensitive cook it longer on the stovetop, even though it may get a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My family really loved this dish. I will be making it more often. The only thing I did different was add half a package of taco seasoning when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I think it's delicious. I followed the other reviewers, and changed it a bit, or a lot, I suppose. I used the beef, tomatoes, and olives, and added some chile powder and Italian seasoning to the ground beef, a small can of enchilada sauce, a can of black beans, a handful of seeded and chopped serrano peppers, and frozen corn instead of creamed. I made a cornbread topping, but added a few teaspoons of cornmeal to the filling to help thicken it, and baked it according to directions. It's very tasty and I will take it to my next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I changed it up a good deal. I added an extra clove of garlic, garlic powder, about two tablespoons of cumin, good deal of salt and pepper, as it was very flat without those, kidney beans instead of black beans, sriracha, and I made cornbread from a mix and poured it over the mixture rather than blending it all in. My family loved it and told me to save the recipe as they would love to have it agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarSpice23
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a tasty and easy dinner. I used taco seasoning instead of messing with all the spices. I also used Rotel tomatoes for an extra zip. Finally I took the suggestion and used Jiffy cornbead mix. To top it off, I added a dallop of sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family really liked this recipe I used whole kernel and thick and chunky salsa, I used Jiffy cornbread mix and put it on top only, I also put in 2 packages of taco seasoning, I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States