Tamale Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I made a few changes and it turned out really well. First of all, when you are cooking the meat, onions and garlic, add some RUBBED SAGE, CAYENNE PEPPER, CUMIN and a small dash of PARSLEY FLAKES. This gives it much more flavor. I also used a half of a can of tomato paste instead of tomatoes. Add a can of kidney beans too...YUM! It does turn out a little mushy, if that is not what you are looking for, don't add the egg, milk or cornmeal to the rest of the ingredients. Instead, make a cornmeal batter (you can even use the boxed one--follow the recipe on the box) and poor the batter over the top so it will form a nice cornbread over the top. This will solve the mushy aspect (which I didn't mind so much)And yes, it is rather ugly to behold....but give it a try. My husband wolfed it down. :) . Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I made cornbread batter instead of mixing it in the meat. I used creamed corn, included the kidney beans, and added salt, cayenne pepper, cumin, along with the chili powder to season up the meat. I did not drain the meat, but I do recommend draining it prior to adding all the spices. The cornbread had a hard crust and not soggy in the middle. Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made a tamale pie like this for years, I raised four kids on it. I loved it, easy, filling and inexpensive. I used Grandma's seasoning instead of chili power, added extra onion and cheese. I baked it in a cast iron dutch oven. It was always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe is similar to one our family has used for years. But we up the flavor by adding salt, pepper, and enough chili powder to give it a little bite. Also, we use whole kernel canned or frozen corn instead of creamed corn for improved texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this recipe but made the corn bread batter and poured it over the top. My family liked it so much I made two pans and both were gone in one sitting. Wow what an awesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanky63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I'm agreeing that this was dull. And dry. I expected it to form its own crust, and it sort of did, but a lot of the cornmeal was just throughout the dish and made it very gritty. Sorry, this just isn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2000
This recipe did not meet my expectations. It was very bland and needs flavor. Also, I had expected the dish to cook into a "bread" like cornbread. It does not and only the top was not mushy. The basics are good however, needs more cornmeal and flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is much better made ahead-I put it in two casserole dishes since it makes quite a lot. I used frozen corn, didn't have any canned cream corn. I liked it much better the second go round-the flavors merged more or something. I think I'd like to try this with a shredded pork or chicken rather than ground beef-the latter gives it that institution food quality (think elementary school). Anyway, it's good for a crowd and it's good served with condiments (sour cream, hot sauce, shredded cheese, diced toms etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very mushy...the first bite was okay, the second bite made me full. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahck19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
wonderful. I didn't follow it perfectly..but was very quick and definitely something new for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States