Tamale Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I would have given this recipe a 5 star but I ended up tweeking it and found that I like it better my way. I read the reviews and so many said that it was tasteless and that it was mushy. And that they expected a cornbread top and it and didn't get it. Well here is what I did. Instead of using corn meal in my filler I used flavored fritos corn chips all mashed up, and while my hamburger was frying I added two packages of taco seasoning. Then I just used a boxed cornbread mix and added a can of cream corn and put some on the bottom of my casserole and the rest on top. It came out great. I let it sit for about 10 minutes and served it with taco sauce, sour cream and a green salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was bland and gritty. Put an end to the grit, use Bisquick or Martha White's Mexican corn bread. Don't stir it in the meat mixture! Pour half on bottom of baking dish and the other half on top of meat mixture. Add some flavor: try a taco seasoning packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe has everything a man wants !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is much better made ahead-I put it in two casserole dishes since it makes quite a lot. I used frozen corn, didn't have any canned cream corn. I liked it much better the second go round-the flavors merged more or something. I think I'd like to try this with a shredded pork or chicken rather than ground beef-the latter gives it that institution food quality (think elementary school). Anyway, it's good for a crowd and it's good served with condiments (sour cream, hot sauce, shredded cheese, diced toms etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I made this for my New spouse and found it very dull without the CHILLI POWDER OR ANY OTHER SEASONING! Maybe she just forgot to add seasoning??? I added Chilli Powder and lots of it and Cumin and Tumeric. Also WHOLE olives NEVER cut them up as that is what makes it good or just half them. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I made cornbread batter instead of mixing it in the meat. I used creamed corn, included the kidney beans, and added salt, cayenne pepper, cumin, along with the chili powder to season up the meat. I did not drain the meat, but I do recommend draining it prior to adding all the spices. The cornbread had a hard crust and not soggy in the middle. Turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I made a few changes and it turned out really well. First of all, when you are cooking the meat, onions and garlic, add some RUBBED SAGE, CAYENNE PEPPER, CUMIN and a small dash of PARSLEY FLAKES. This gives it much more flavor. I also used a half of a can of tomato paste instead of tomatoes. Add a can of kidney beans too...YUM! It does turn out a little mushy, if that is not what you are looking for, don't add the egg, milk or cornmeal to the rest of the ingredients. Instead, make a cornmeal batter (you can even use the boxed one--follow the recipe on the box) and poor the batter over the top so it will form a nice cornbread over the top. This will solve the mushy aspect (which I didn't mind so much)And yes, it is rather ugly to behold....but give it a try. My husband wolfed it down. :) . Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I'm agreeing that this was dull. And dry. I expected it to form its own crust, and it sort of did, but a lot of the cornmeal was just throughout the dish and made it very gritty. Sorry, this just isn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This was only okay the first time. I couldn't stomach the leftovers and threw the rest out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe has very little flavor and it's mushy. Definitely add some spices like cumin or chili pepper to give it some pep. It is also very unappealing looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States