Tamale Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this recipe but made the corn bread batter and poured it over the top. My family liked it so much I made two pans and both were gone in one sitting. Wow what an awesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanky63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
for some added kick, I substituted the stewed tomatoes with FRESH SALSA! Another way is with the stewed tomatoes with Mexican spices. Very good, and with the Fresh Salsa, you can control how spicy you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
i added pinto beans, kidney beans, chopped jalapenos...various seasonings such as garlic powder, cumin, chili powder....used a corn muffin mix for the topping.......delicious! good basic recipe and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This turned out really bland and the texture was mushy. It was not something we enjoyed, and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This recipe is interesting but not particularly tasty. Per the advice of other reviewers, I chose to layer the cornmeal batter on top of the dish rather than incorporate it with everything else. However, the top never got crunchy or browned - it was quite soft and unsatisfying; perhaps cooking for an additional 20 mins or so would have helped. Per another user's advice, I added sage, cayenne, cumin, tomato paste, and kidney beans - it was decent, not earth-shattering. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This turned out very nice! and not dry at all. Very moist inside, crusty on top, did not stick to the dish at all and satisfied everybody's taste. A bit bland yes, and that might be partly because of the canned olives I used, which had no taste. I suspect fresh olives will improve this pie. As a word of caution, some people may get stomach pains if the cornmeal has not been cooked long enough, so if you are sensitive cook it longer on the stovetop, even though it may get a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a tasty and easy dinner. I used taco seasoning instead of messing with all the spices. I also used Rotel tomatoes for an extra zip. Finally I took the suggestion and used Jiffy cornbead mix. To top it off, I added a dallop of sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very mushy...the first bite was okay, the second bite made me full. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahck19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Too soupy. Not a tamale pie to me - next time maybe I'll try Tamale Pie II. It does help to add the seasonings that another reviewer suggested - but I would try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I would have given this recipe a 5 star but I ended up tweeking it and found that I like it better my way. I read the reviews and so many said that it was tasteless and that it was mushy. And that they expected a cornbread top and it and didn't get it. Well here is what I did. Instead of using corn meal in my filler I used flavored fritos corn chips all mashed up, and while my hamburger was frying I added two packages of taco seasoning. Then I just used a boxed cornbread mix and added a can of cream corn and put some on the bottom of my casserole and the rest on top. It came out great. I let it sit for about 10 minutes and served it with taco sauce, sour cream and a green salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States