Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Just made this delicious meal tonight. I cut the recipe in half because its just me and my husband. I did change a few things because I did not have all the ingredients and I wanted to make it a little more healthy. I did not use the mushrooms because I forgot to buy some. However, I opted out the heavey cream and used half and half ( if you make the roux accordingly you can use any kind of milk you have on hand because it will thicken it.) Additionally, I added more hot pepper sauce and used just plain old chilli powder (1 tbsp). Also, my husband thought we should have added more hot sauce and red pepper flakes, which I agreee, but this depends on how spicey you like things. One trick: Heat the chicken broth and milk in the microave first until warm because it thickens more quickly in the pan without burning the milk. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. I served it with rice and mexican cheese. It was so good. We have tons of left overs. We cannot wait to eat it tomorrow. Also, I think if you follow the recipe exactly - you definitely get way more servings than 12 more like 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! It's going to be a regular in our house from here on out! The only changes I made was that I used fresh Anaheim chili and I used Chipotle hot sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I ate Pollo Con Crema at the 3 Margaritas restuarant in Colorado and had to try making it myselft. I am so excited that this recipe turned out exactly like it! Wonderful! I serve it with mexican rice and warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lan D
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this the other night and my husband and I are HUGE fans! I was feeling a tad lazy that night so I bought a rotesserie chicken and peeled it apart instead of having cubes. I only let it simmer for about 10 minutes because I did not want the cream to burn. I really love creole seasoning with creamy sauces so I put a couple of shakes into the pot too. I a couple of spoonfuls of the yumminess on a semi homemade tortilla (the raw ones in the refrigerated section) on a bed of baby spinach and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lan D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
My family loves this recipe. Made it exactly as the recipe states and it was gobbled up by both children and adults alike! And I love how economical it is too! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is really good I did use a half package Goya sazon to season the chicken breast halves as the were on the extra large side and we like allot of seasoning, rave reviews from my family! Thank you Sarah Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, no subsititues. It is excellent. I would have added more spice, but have little ones eating it too. I'll just add more for me! Made a lot...does it save?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
slightly modified this recipe - servings were for 4 - reduced the chicken to 1 breast half but used about the same, maybe added extra, for vegis - didn't use heavy cream, used 1%, didn't use ketchup, used tomato sauce, I also added just about a 1/2-1 tea of chili flakes - REALLY, REALLY good....I'm excited to make again....served with rice, left out the tortillas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Pollo Con Crema is seriously my favorite thing to order at a mexican restaurant. I like to control the fat, salt and ingredients that go into my food - so began my quest for a recipe. I found one!!! Delish. Dangerous and delish - could totally blow my diet!! I ate the left overs for days and didn't care less. I made it to the letter and it was really good, my own personal preference items I would change would be half the red pepper, twice the mushroom and more cream sauce. I can't wait to try more of these "take-out fake-out" recipes from Sarah Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight with mexican rice. It was SO delicious! My husband took a couple of bites and said, "We're definitely going to have to add this to our list of favorite dinners!" Our toddler gobbled it up even faster than we did! Thank you for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States