Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
We liked this a great deal. It makes alot, but there was no trouble using up the excess sauce. We did make a few substitutions based on what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Used 6 chicken breasts instead of 4 because of amount of sauce for leftovers. This was better than our fav Mexican Restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I worked at a Mexican restaurant for years, and maybe this was just different from what I was used to... I found the cumin in this recipe to be overwhelming and the sauce was lacking that extra something that makes you say, "mmmm." At the restaurant, they made their pollo con crema with wonderful homemade enchilada sauce and some sour cream (about 2 parts enchilada sauce to 1 part sour cream). Maybe it's just what I'm used to, but that would be a heck of a lot easier and tastier (using canned enchilada sauce, of course!) :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
So good! My boyfriend eyed the finished product doubtfully, but gobbled up every bite he was served. It even made for good leftovers. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Really good, authentic recipe. My husband in particular loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The recipe was easy to follow, but turned out pretty blah tasting for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Loved it. Family loved it. Better than the pollo con crema at the neighborhood Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This sounds so much like my fave dish the Pollo Loco from my fave Mex Grill. They add lots of poblano peppers in strips along with onion in strips and a few chunks of fresh jalopeno with the sliced mushrooms. Its so good I could drink the sauce:) I dont eat mine with tortilla's but over rice or plain if I am going low carb. But if you eat with tortilla everyone knows that you fork the meat and veggies into the tortilla and then dip in the sauce or drizzle the sauce over rice...sillies. Also good with lime margaritta's;) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I usually add some mozzarella cheese because my family and I have always loved white cheese sauces. It makes for some fun stringy sauce. This last time I made it, I put in some lime juice, just about 3 good squeezes from the bottle. I also didn't have all of the heavy cream, so I added a bit more sour cream till the consistancy seemed right. Mmm mmm mmm! My family of 4 ate nearly the whole 12 servings...so good with salsa and chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destyni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I didn't have boneless skinless breasts so I used bone in chicken thighs that I removed the skin from. It obviously took longer to cook these, but other than that, I didn't make any changes. My family all loved this. The only complaint one son had was that it was so creamy that he chose to shred the tortilla and place it on top rather than try to roll it up! Not a bad thing, much prefer creamy chicken to dried out chicken recipes! Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States