Taiwanese-Style Three Cup Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The soy sauce amount for this recipe was reduced by the Allrecipes staff on 7/29/2009 at the submitter's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Recently I ate some chicken with basil at a local Taiwanese restaurant and wanted to recreate it at home. I found this recipe and tried it. The result was definitely was very close to what I ate and easy to boot. I've made the recipe twice, once with sherry and the other time without it (substituting chinese cooking wine instead) and have found it to be more or less the same. The sherry just makes it a little bit more sweet. Also, since I couldn't get my hands on Thai basil leaves or whole red chilies, I used regular basil and 2 jalapeno peppers instead. Finally, I cut down on the soy sauce a bit, wary of other reviewers who said the dish was too salty. All in all, I enthusiastically recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I make this dish all the time and I never get tired of it. I was about to share it myself but you beat me to it :D (traditionally... rice wine is used instead of sherry, but it's not that big of a difference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe. Like others, I've made a few modifications of my own: 1) reduced the amount of soy sauce to just 1/4 cup, 2) substituted the dry sherry with Chinese cooking wine, 3) reduced amount of sesame oil to just 3 tablespoons, and 4) added a full cup of basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I tried this chicken in Taiwanese restaurant before, therefore I decided to DIY it at home. By using this recipe the cooking result is better than what we get locally. I put in 50g of Thai basir leaf, it really give the dish a slight peppery kick. Home grown basil leaf is always taste the best and it can be grown effortlessly by sticking stem into soil. Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good. I salted the chicken prior to browning, and omitted the water and chilies. I did add some red pepper flakes but not too much because of my two young children. I think it would have been even better if I'd had Thai sweet basil rather then regular, but I used what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
It's pretty good if you don't have an Asian market nearby, but I recently found another recipe I like better, which uses grated ginger, shaoxing wine instead of sherry, a small amount of dark sesame oil (for flavor) in addition to the light, and a darker, thicker soy sauce called kecap manis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Agree with other reviewers that you need more basil, less sesame oil, and either less soy sauce or a lighter one. It has similar taste to the restaurant dish, but looks less appealing because it looks so much darker. This maybe improved with less soy sauce. Also restaurants tend to use chicken on bone, so that may be a missing element too. If I try again, I may use stew longer with chicken thighs with bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eiko
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent dish! Thank you very much for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sausalito, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was quite good and turned out just like the three cup chicken we've eaten in the restaurant. We did reduce the soy sauce a little to cut down on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingdoc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: King City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States