Taiwanese-Style Three Cup Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I make this dish all the time and I never get tired of it. I was about to share it myself but you beat me to it :D (traditionally... rice wine is used instead of sherry, but it's not that big of a difference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The soy sauce amount for this recipe was reduced by the Allrecipes staff on 7/29/2009 at the submitter's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I tried this chicken in Taiwanese restaurant before, therefore I decided to DIY it at home. By using this recipe the cooking result is better than what we get locally. I put in 50g of Thai basir leaf, it really give the dish a slight peppery kick. Home grown basil leaf is always taste the best and it can be grown effortlessly by sticking stem into soil. Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I had actually had this dish at a Tiwanese restaurant in Milian, Italy and loved it. When making it at home I mixed some five spice powder with some flour and dredged the chicken in it before adding it to the skillet to make it a bit crisper on the outside. I also used a lot of sliced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I don't use the basil but add scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eiko
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent dish! Thank you very much for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sausalito, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Really great recipe and authentic recipe! I skipped the basil leaves and chilies tho, because I've never seen them in Chinese restos-- and I got a dish exactly how we like it!!! You can also use bone-in chicken parts like legs, wings and thighs, cut up into smallish pieces. Serve in a claypot for authentic presentation! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was quite good and turned out just like the three cup chicken we've eaten in the restaurant. We did reduce the soy sauce a little to cut down on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingdoc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: King City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
my favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was a big hit at our house. I didn't have the basil but it didn't seem to matter. I did add chili garlic sauce because my gang want their hot stuff really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States