Taiwanese Style Oxtail Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Final product turned out pretty good, but I made some adjustments: 1. Added salt and pepper to the flour coating step and during the 3 hours of stewing 2. Added cubed potatoes along with the carrots and onion 3. Should use slightly less tomatoes 4. Used less water and more beef broth Overall, the stew turned out quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Great recipe. I used chopped stewed tomatoes with the onions, some mushrooms, corn and peas and then just a hint of cyanne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sprklnh2o
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
It's so easy! I made it twice and both turned out great. It smelled so delicious I could hardly wait for the ox tail to stew for 3 hours. The only modification I would suggest is to add some brown sugar (1/4 cup) to the soup base - I like mine on the sweet side! Also, I think it gets too watered down if you cover the oxtail with water. I would stew with beef broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprklnh2o

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
It was pretty good, but I made some modification. I used a can of chopped tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes, added some dried basil, black pepper, paprika, and sea salt. Scooped out fat by the ladlefuls and added more water. I also added about 2 tbsp of vinegar at the end and simmered it for another hour to develop the taste. Next time, I'm going to use the pressure cooker to get the Oxtail more tender to cut the cooking time. I don't have 3+ hours to cook a stew when I can do it in less than half the time. Overall not too bad for a basic stew, but you'll have to tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purdie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I didn't follow this recipe exactly, but it was delish! I substituted beef stew meat for oxtail and added celery. The flavor of this stew is wonderful due to the wine, soy sauce, and tomato paste. I will be making this again very soon. I will probably try it with potatoes this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Reminds me of the stew my mom used to make! Simple, delicious and the oxtail adds such a great flavor. 1. I used extra carrots (5) since I'm a fiend 2. Added parsnips which was a great cinnamon flavor 3. Used Lawry's seasoning salt for add'l flavor (salt / pepper / paprika / onion & garlic powder work) 4. Next time, I will use less water. Soup ended up less thick than in photo 5. I used only 1.5 lbs oxtail and kept rest of portions the same and it was fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A great tasty meal, my husband loved it...i added 2 tablespoons of paprika and some black olives for a richer flavour. I also used a presure cooker to cut back on the cooking time to 1 1/2 hours from the required 3 hours but some of the meat stuck to the bottom of the pot and did not pressurize well enough during the last half hour. Will definitely do this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good recipe.. we add some nothern beans and cabbage and some venegar. But everything turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States