Taiwanese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made these for dinner once again an they were a hit! I advise you NOT to leave out the 5 spice powder...it's the ingredient that really "makes" this recipe. 5 spice powder has a distinct flavor and usually contains equal parts of cinnamon, anise, ginger, cloves, and fennel. I made a few alterations that you may find helpful:marinade the chops for at least 3 hours or better yet overnight,use a strainer to evenly coat the pork chops with cornstarch, use medium or thin cut chops (as thick chops take longer to cook and may dry out)and , use less oil to fry them. Our family enjoyed these porkchops and I look forward to making them again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These chops turned out fantastic. I made a few changes to the original. I made it for two pork chops. I increased the 5 spice to about 1 1/2 tsp. and I used about a 1/4 cup of white wine. Cooking, I used a tblsp. of margarine and a little olive oil. Did a high heat sear about 1 min. each side. I then reduced heat to med., covered and cooked 5 min. each side. They were tender and juicy and really flavorful. I served with white rice and spicy Bok Choy which made a spicy kick to the fragrant meat. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menosfun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This dish was a huge hit with the hubby. The trick to this dish is 1)Use thin sliced pork chops, 2) make little slits on both sides, and 3) marinate for at least 3-4 hours. I didn't use as much oil for frying as they suggested, but it still turned out fine. Very flavorful!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
When I was a child, my family moved to Taipei for a few years. The school I went to served these pork chops for lunch every Thursday, and to this day I can still remember how delicious they were. It's taken me 20 years to find a recipe, but this is the real deal. Just like I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
A great, authentic recipe that is delicious even with estimated proportions + common sense (the way I like it). It reminds me of my beloved Taiwanese childhood. DO NOT OMIT THE 5-SPICE: it "makes" this classic dish. The sweet potato starch instead of cornstarch is a wonderful addition to make this all-the-way authentic. If you can, serve with pickled cabbage and an egg hard-boiled in soy sauce and anise. I'd also recommend using VERY thin-cut bone-in pork chops if you can find them-- it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very easy to make and tasty. I cooked them using a non-stick cooking spray, not oil, so I could save calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe for pork chops. I am Taiwanese and this tastes like pork chops that my mom would cook (I can't ever get a recipe from her because she never measures anything). Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These turned out great..Thanks for the recipe.. By the way... Why would anyone over/under rate something they haven't even tried?? You're not helping anyone..an unknown opinion is worthless.. If you have something good/bad to say, rate it AFTER trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was great! I followed the recipe, adding a little white pepper to the marinade. I served with white rice and stir fried baby bok choy. My boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Yummy! It smelled soooo good while it was cooking and the hubby knew it exactly what it was. We have only had them out at the Chinese diners. I don't know why my breading was falling off while cooking though... If it stayed on, I would have given it five stars. Maybe it was a chef error? Anyone that can give me insight on this I would really appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States