Taiwanese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
awesome! it tastes almost as good as the restaurant. there were a few changes that i'll be doing next time though. i only marinaded for an hour but found it to be a little salty to my liking. Next time, ill be upping the sugar to probably 1.5, as well as the five-spice. i didn't have white wine so i left it out but it still tasted great. as for the cornstarch, i definitely will be coating it a little more next time because it wasn't covered as much as i'd like. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
A great, authentic recipe that is delicious even with estimated proportions + common sense (the way I like it). It reminds me of my beloved Taiwanese childhood. DO NOT OMIT THE 5-SPICE: it "makes" this classic dish. The sweet potato starch instead of cornstarch is a wonderful addition to make this all-the-way authentic. If you can, serve with pickled cabbage and an egg hard-boiled in soy sauce and anise. I'd also recommend using VERY thin-cut bone-in pork chops if you can find them-- it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. This was fantastic. Didn't need to modify the ingredients (other than using boneless pork tenderloin). I highly recommend this with rice and sauteed veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was really good. I love to eat pork chops with rice when I go to Taiwan, and this definitely brings back those same flavors I love to eat. Thanks so much for sharing. It's usually really difficult to find a good Taiwanese recipe in English.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was just ok for us. I made two chops with the breading and two without it. We preferred the chops without the breading - as others suggested I did marinade it for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was good. I did a few things different. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just used vinegar. I also didn't have a large enough bag so I put the marinade in a large glass pan and doubled the recipe because I had 8 thin sliced pork chops. I added 1TBS of vegetable oil so the marinade wasn't so thick. The pork chops alone were fairly salty, but not over powering. I made fried rice as a side and chopped up the porkchops and mixed it into the rice, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
it was ok... won't be making this again. nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe for pork chops. I am Taiwanese and this tastes like pork chops that my mom would cook (I can't ever get a recipe from her because she never measures anything). Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made these for dinner once again an they were a hit! I advise you NOT to leave out the 5 spice powder...it's the ingredient that really "makes" this recipe. 5 spice powder has a distinct flavor and usually contains equal parts of cinnamon, anise, ginger, cloves, and fennel. I made a few alterations that you may find helpful:marinade the chops for at least 3 hours or better yet overnight,use a strainer to evenly coat the pork chops with cornstarch, use medium or thin cut chops (as thick chops take longer to cook and may dry out)and , use less oil to fry them. Our family enjoyed these porkchops and I look forward to making them again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Yummy! It smelled soooo good while it was cooking and the hubby knew it exactly what it was. We have only had them out at the Chinese diners. I don't know why my breading was falling off while cooking though... If it stayed on, I would have given it five stars. Maybe it was a chef error? Anyone that can give me insight on this I would really appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States