Taiwanese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. This was fantastic. Didn't need to modify the ingredients (other than using boneless pork tenderloin). I highly recommend this with rice and sauteed veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was really good. I love to eat pork chops with rice when I go to Taiwan, and this definitely brings back those same flavors I love to eat. Thanks so much for sharing. It's usually really difficult to find a good Taiwanese recipe in English.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was just ok for us. I made two chops with the breading and two without it. We preferred the chops without the breading - as others suggested I did marinade it for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was good. I did a few things different. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just used vinegar. I also didn't have a large enough bag so I put the marinade in a large glass pan and doubled the recipe because I had 8 thin sliced pork chops. I added 1TBS of vegetable oil so the marinade wasn't so thick. The pork chops alone were fairly salty, but not over powering. I made fried rice as a side and chopped up the porkchops and mixed it into the rice, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
it was ok... won't be making this again. nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe for pork chops. I am Taiwanese and this tastes like pork chops that my mom would cook (I can't ever get a recipe from her because she never measures anything). Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made these for dinner once again an they were a hit! I advise you NOT to leave out the 5 spice powder...it's the ingredient that really "makes" this recipe. 5 spice powder has a distinct flavor and usually contains equal parts of cinnamon, anise, ginger, cloves, and fennel. I made a few alterations that you may find helpful:marinade the chops for at least 3 hours or better yet overnight,use a strainer to evenly coat the pork chops with cornstarch, use medium or thin cut chops (as thick chops take longer to cook and may dry out)and , use less oil to fry them. Our family enjoyed these porkchops and I look forward to making them again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Yummy! It smelled soooo good while it was cooking and the hubby knew it exactly what it was. We have only had them out at the Chinese diners. I don't know why my breading was falling off while cooking though... If it stayed on, I would have given it five stars. Maybe it was a chef error? Anyone that can give me insight on this I would really appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very easy and delicious even omitting the 5 spice was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Very easy to make and tasty. I cooked them using a non-stick cooking spray, not oil, so I could save calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States