Taiwanese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These turned out great..Thanks for the recipe.. By the way... Why would anyone over/under rate something they haven't even tried?? You're not helping anyone..an unknown opinion is worthless.. If you have something good/bad to say, rate it AFTER trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This, is the best dish ever. I'm taiwanese and this tastes EXACTLY like the local restaurants in taiwan. Thank you so much for putting this recipe up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
When I was a child, my family moved to Taipei for a few years. The school I went to served these pork chops for lunch every Thursday, and to this day I can still remember how delicious they were. It's taken me 20 years to find a recipe, but this is the real deal. Just like I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Fantastic! My fiancé suggested adding a little hot sauce to the marinade, as he likes things with a little kick. Great change up for pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was ok, it smelt great while cooking and looked great but the flavours were too strong and over powering for my taste. I prefer other ingredients to compliment the taste of pork but with this I couldnt really tell that I was eating pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These chops turned out fantastic. I made a few changes to the original. I made it for two pork chops. I increased the 5 spice to about 1 1/2 tsp. and I used about a 1/4 cup of white wine. Cooking, I used a tblsp. of margarine and a little olive oil. Did a high heat sear about 1 min. each side. I then reduced heat to med., covered and cooked 5 min. each side. They were tender and juicy and really flavorful. I served with white rice and spicy Bok Choy which made a spicy kick to the fragrant meat. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menosfun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I can't believe how great these pork chops tasted given the small amount of ingredients needed. I agreed with the reviewer that the trick is to use "thin-sliced" pork chops and to use Tapioca (sweet potato) starch. The only modification I would make is to use 1.5 tablespoon of sugar instead of the 1 tablespoon listed and that's just because I like it to have a sweeter taste and also, marinate it for at least 4 hours or more. I also seasoned the tapioca starch with some salt, pepper and chili pepper to give it a kick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Excellent! They came out so juicy and tender. I didn't put them in the marinade til I got home from work, so only marinated them for about 10 minutes and they still came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
awesome! it tastes almost as good as the restaurant. there were a few changes that i'll be doing next time though. i only marinaded for an hour but found it to be a little salty to my liking. Next time, ill be upping the sugar to probably 1.5, as well as the five-spice. i didn't have white wine so i left it out but it still tasted great. as for the cornstarch, i definitely will be coating it a little more next time because it wasn't covered as much as i'd like. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
A great, authentic recipe that is delicious even with estimated proportions + common sense (the way I like it). It reminds me of my beloved Taiwanese childhood. DO NOT OMIT THE 5-SPICE: it "makes" this classic dish. The sweet potato starch instead of cornstarch is a wonderful addition to make this all-the-way authentic. If you can, serve with pickled cabbage and an egg hard-boiled in soy sauce and anise. I'd also recommend using VERY thin-cut bone-in pork chops if you can find them-- it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States