Taiwanese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I was a bit skeptical about the chinese five spice because I don't care for anise, but these were really tasty! My husband loved them. I used boneless chops because that's what I had, and then I used about half the amount of oil to cook them in. Great, slightly different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
good. but wish i used thinner cut chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very delicious! In addition: I pounded the pork chops to tenderize them and flatten them out (by rapid chopping them with the blunt edge of my knife) just like my grandma does :) Also, there's no need to add that much oil for the frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
this is a great recipe. i substituted white wine with 1 tablespoon of sherry wine. i dont have the 5-spice powder so i used 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 2 whole star aniseseed, and 1 teaspoon grated root ginger. i broke off the leaves of the aniseed and let it marinate in the sauce for a few minutes to get some anise flavor out. in addition to the 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, i added 1 tablespoon of teriyaki sauce for some sweetness. i used only 1/2 teaspoon of sugar and it was more than enough. some reviews said cornstarch makes the pan sticky so i used 1/2 cup cornstarch and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. it didnt turn out as crunchy as i like but even when i order this in restaurants it's not crunchy either. maybe next time ill use just flour. my boyfriend who is taiwanese loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I used boneless pork chops. I increased the wine to 2 tbs. These were so good that last night I made it with boneless chicken breast cut into nuggets and toss in baggie with corn starch..then browned. Fantastic. Double the marinade and while meat is resting bring to boil and reduce and use as sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Nice flavor, we enjoyed these. I made the sauce and poured it over the chops (no cornstarch) in my slowcooker. Very tasty with jasmine rice and green beans also sprinkled with Chinese five-spice powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! I had to substitute cider vinegar for the white wine because that's what I had. I marinated them for 24 hours and then cooked them on the BBQ. They were amazing! The Chinese 5 Spice really gave them a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious recipe. I doubled the marinade. And added some grounded sea salt. A little bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The pork chops came out perfect! Just like I remembered them when I lived in Taipei a couple of years back. The taste is authentic! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Great and easy recipe. It was delicious and everyone loved them and told me I could make them again anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen264

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States