Taiwanese Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gooberette
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this recipe!!! This is some of the best tofu that I have ever had!!! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. We will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is killer! I was able to brown the tofu by cooking it on high (after cooking garlic and onion on medium) and my end result looked just like the picture. I only used 1/4 cup soy sauce (rather than 1/3) and chinese red vinegar in place of the black. Used chopped vidalia onion instead of green, which i lacked. Am eating it now and liking it much! Note: Do not omit chinese-style vinegars, which impart a particularly delightful flavor! (I did not have sesame oil today when i made this dish again so i toasted some sesame seeds and added them to soy sauce mixture--worked well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I'm not really experienced at cooking or at buying ingredients so I never ended up finding sesame oil or chinese black vinegar. What I did find is black bean sauce so I added that in. It took alot longer than 10 minutes for my tofu to brown, I was starting to get worried. But eventually it did, anyway the end result seemed way too salty. I don't know if its my beginner skills and me taking 'seasoning' too far or because I used 1/3 of dark soy sauce instead of normal stuff. Anyway (this may sound a little strange) when I lick the sauce it's nice, but then when I chew and shallow the tofu, it really is too salty for me. I think I shall make some rice tomorrow and hopefully the sauce will immerse into that and become weaker (less salty). Otherwise, the green onions and garlic smelt so yummy! Also the tofu when it started browning looked really yum too. I think my results was probably influenced more on my tastebuds and skills than the recipe. I may try this again in the future with a few adjustments (e.g. less salt and less soy sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyWilCook
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I really love this recipe. Especially great on top of white rice. I originally sent in a 5 star review on this recipe, using Balsamic Vinegar since I couldn't find Chinese Black Vinegar. Now, thanks to my bestfriend, who sent me a bottle of Chinese Black Vinegar over the holidays, I find that the Chinese Black Vinegar made a great diffence in appearance and in taste. I would make this recipe again and again using the Chinese Black Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Delicious with the addition of black bean sauce!!! My husband likes to add chinese hot sauce to his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly for great results. I used low sodium soy sauce and I found it somewhat salty but still tasted good. I fried the tofu for about 15 minutes before adding the garlic, because I wanted to tofu crispy without burning the garlic. The leftovers the next day actually tasted better, and the tofu was less salty and more mellow in taste. Next time I'll let it sit in the fridge for a day for the tofu to take on the marinade sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacy32670
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used regular firm tofu since its what I had on hand. I also used just enough of the sauce to turn the tofu medium brown and that way is wasnt salty. This was really tasty, Ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. It is really tasty I usually serve it with rice and a quick veggie stir fry. I found the black vinegar at a chinese grocery store and, although I thought it was a little expensive to buy just for 1 dish, I find myself adding a splash here and there to lots of other asian dishes. Well worth the money for the depth of flavour it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
woah, too much soy sauce!! but i guess americans love the soy sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
this was pretty good. however, i would recommend cooking the tofu first, and then adding the onion - it gets burned by the time the tofu is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States