Taiwanese Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved the idea of this recipe but it was a little bland for my family. We garnished with oelek sambal and added water chestnuts for crunch. A solid base recipe to prepare tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Ok... Easy to make but not terribly tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I still have yet to figure the right way to cook the tofu. However, every time I've made this recipe, it has been awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I loved the taste...but definitely made it my own... I used 1/4 cup Low Sodium Soy Sauce; I used a teaspoon of cider vinegar and a teaspoon of white instead of black Chinese; I also substituted the sesame seed oil for coconut oil(the thought was to counter the soy sauce); and lastly used Truvia instead of sugar. Everything was the same...I did fry the tofu alone to evaporate the water out of it first, then in olive oil with a table spoon of the mix after browned I added the garlic and green onion so they didn't burn and then added the sauce. I put the tofu over Bulgar Wheat and 6 Asparagus Spears. Was just amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Awesome!! Definitely will make again! :D Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is the BEST fried tofu we've EVER made! Lots of flavor! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is killer! I was able to brown the tofu by cooking it on high (after cooking garlic and onion on medium) and my end result looked just like the picture. I only used 1/4 cup soy sauce (rather than 1/3) and chinese red vinegar in place of the black. Used chopped vidalia onion instead of green, which i lacked. Am eating it now and liking it much! Note: Do not omit chinese-style vinegars, which impart a particularly delightful flavor! (I did not have sesame oil today when i made this dish again so i toasted some sesame seeds and added them to soy sauce mixture--worked well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and with my experience with soy sauce, I used half Kikkoman and half dark soy sauce. The tofu still came out too salty. The taste of the sauce of great, but I would definitely use significantly less soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was looking to make a Taiwanese dish and found this one. (I am Taiwanese myself). I made this for dinner and used the exact ingredients. Unfortunately, I felt that the dish was way too salty, major overload. I think the soy sauce should be cut in half of what's listed, and even then, I'm not sure I like the flavor that much, it's nothing special. I give it two stars for being edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States