Tail Burner Firehouse French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Although I love to try new recipes from this site, I seldom write reviews and have never written anything negative. However, I felt it was necessary to write about this one. I'm a huge fan of anything hot/spicy and was excited about trying these fries. I followed the ingredient amounts exactly but used 3 tbsp of olive oil instead of the butter (at the suggestion of other reviews). I placed everything in a large ziploc bag and tossed to evenly coat the potatoes. They smelled great while baking, but I was SO disappointed! The spices seemed to overwhelm each other, resulting in just alot of "hot" but not much flavor. I'm not sure what I would change if I try them again but something just wasn't "right" for me. Maybe less red pepper would make the lemon pepper more distinctive. I tried dipping them in ketchup or Ranch dressing and still didn't enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were delicious! I cut the amount of red pepper flakes in half and they were still very spicy. They tasted great dipped in fry sauce and ketchup, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very Good! I didn't have any red pepper much to my dismay so I used Fajita seasoning instead. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Amazing fries!!! I made it exactly the way the recipe listed, except that I drizzled the butter, and it was loaded with flavor! If you want the max flavor, don't skimp on the spices or butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I keep making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I read through the reviews before I made these. I didn't end up using butter, I used only a tablespoon or so of extra virgin olive oil (it's a little heart healthier) and because my kids were eating these, I cut the red pepper spice back to one teaspoon. I didn't cook my fries in a casserole dish, I layered foil over a baking sheet and baked them on the foil. I also used steak fries. My husband really liked these but my kids didn't care for them much at all. I had one and thought it was tasty. I served this with my homemade fry sauce that paired well, though it was quite a kick combined with the spices from the fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
FIVE STARS for sure....my husband & I made these one night as a side for dinner...it was the two of us, my brother and law and our 15 month old....they were a HUGE hit....they were super spicy but the lemon pepper really balanced it out. We made sure to give our 15 month old fires w/o too much of the seasonings on them...but she did LOVE the few that we gave her. This will definately be a repeat in our home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We really didn't like these.........I used fresh russets and sliced into steak fries....baked with olive oil....I guess we basically just used the recipe for the seasoning..not the method.....Didn't love the lemon pepper.......Like it on fish..but not fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
To quote my daughter, "oh, man, these fries are so good". I used steak fries because that is what I had and use a little less red pepper flakes for my kids' sake. These are really good, and we were fighting over who got the last few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States