Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Toasted the seeds in a dry saute pan on the stove top because it's easier for me to watch their browning that way. Considering the price of tahini at the store, I thought it was fair to make it instead (Buying the seeds in bulk or in bags from the health food store is much more cost effective than buying the little jars from the spice section!) Not only that, it probably took me as long to make this as it does to stir the store-bought container when the oil has separated, lol! I feel it needed a pinch of salt to brighten the sesame flavor. I made just enough tahini for making a garbanzo can's worth of hummus (quartered this recipe). Look forward to making that tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Great recipe! I tasted my sesame seeds on the stove in a dry pan, this was perfect in my humus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I wanted to make my own tahini to reduce sodium. This was very easy and it tasted great! I used it to make a low sodium hummus that also turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very easy and satisfying. I need to be a bit more vigilant while the seeds are toasting next time (they got a tad brown). The hummus I made is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Chris Harrison Boeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Loved it, but it is kind of expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used this to make the "Real Hummus" recipe on AR. This was easy to make. I needed to add extra olive oil for it to blend properly. Also, I used black and white sesame seeds which gave it a darker color than the one on the recipe's main page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by 19brad79
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Mine's way darker than the other photos. Thought I might have over toasted the seeds, but it doesn't taste burnt. Actually quite flavorful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is bitter, but fills the need for tahini in hummus. Can't find tahini here in my part if Tenneessee. It does take a while to blend it up. I made a half of this recipe (1/2 cup of sesame seeds) but ended up using almost a 1/4 cup of oil to get it to blend up to the right consistency. Thanks for helping me to make the black bean hummus from AR. I really needed to use up done black beans! Thanks again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I couldn't find tahini in the store so I searched online and found this. Fortunately I had just bought a bag of sesame seeds from Penzeys. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tahini

A delicious middle-eastern sesame sauce.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States