Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Toasted the seeds in a dry saute pan on the stove top because it's easier for me to watch their browning that way. Considering the price of tahini at the store, I thought it was fair to make it instead (Buying the seeds in bulk or in bags from the health food store is much more cost effective than buying the little jars from the spice section!) Not only that, it probably took me as long to make this as it does to stir the store-bought container when the oil has separated, lol! I feel it needed a pinch of salt to brighten the sesame flavor. I made just enough tahini for making a garbanzo can's worth of hummus (quartered this recipe). Look forward to making that tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I couldn't find tahini in the store so I searched online and found this. Fortunately I had just bought a bag of sesame seeds from Penzeys. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this because it makes a small amount. Many recipes are scaled to make much larger quantities. I toasted my own sesame seeds in a dry pan, as another person recommended, and as long as you watch them, it works wonderfully. Very aromatic. Just keep pulsing the seeds until they become smooth with the oil. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITAMSMITH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monmouth, Maine, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very easy and satisfying. I need to be a bit more vigilant while the seeds are toasting next time (they got a tad brown). The hummus I made is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I wanted to make my own tahini to reduce sodium. This was very easy and it tasted great! I used it to make a low sodium hummus that also turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
make as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Loved it, but it is kind of expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Turned out great! I like it better than the store-bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Great recipe! I tasted my sesame seeds on the stove in a dry pan, this was perfect in my humus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States