Tahini Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I was a bit scared of making these cookies because even though I used to bake with tahini a lot, I associate it with my health food phase when I would eat all kinds of things I wouldn't touch now. However I have half a jar of tahini left over from that phase so I thought I'd give these a try! I was surprised - they weren't bitter at all and I even cut down slightly on the honey! They were a little soft right out of the oven but firmed up within minutes - maybe because I flattened them out rather than leaving them round as in the picture. They didn't have time to cool fully before they were finished, so I can't say how they are at room temperature, but they're excellent warm! Also, what I like about this recipe is that because it has no egg, it's very easy to scale down. I only made a sixth of the recipe, which for me was 2 cookies (not 6 according to the stated quantities!). But I'm glad I didn't make more because I wouldn't have been able to stop eating them, and I was alone at home! I added raisins instead of walnuts; next time, though, I may try the maple syrup variant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
What we like so much about this is that it has neither eggs, flour or butter (vegan friends love it) and is quite flexible. I've made it several times, using hints of previous reviewers. So here's another - use 1/4 cup honey and a couple of spoons of molasses, plus some lemon juice and rind. Ground fresh ginger is good too. Watch timing in the oven. I make it in a slab and cut into squares when it's cooled a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were surprisingly good! I did add a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla and...a 1/4 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips. I formed the dough into a half inch thick rectangle on the cookie sheet and cut them into bars after they cooked for 15 minutes and cooled for 5 min. I usually make playgroup granola bars from this site and these are a little less sweet but healthier with a great texture and so easy to make with such a short ingredient list. Thank you for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
They're good as a healthy alternative to traditional cookies, but they were a little bland and crumbly. I substituted agave nectar for the honey, and that flavor reduced but didn't eliminate the bitterness of the tahini. Raisins, chopped apples, dried currants, etc. would be good additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These are delicious, and taste almost like a hybrid oatmeal/peanut butter cookie. It really is important to let them rest for several minutes after they come out of the oven so they will hold their shape and not crumble. Using baking parchment makes it easier to remove them from the cookie sheet undisturbed -- then, remove them from the parchment after a few more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I made this with Agave Nectar instead of Honey, I also dropped the walnuts because of an allergy. The first batch came out fantastic and everyone loved them, I burnt the second so they wern't so good! But a fantastically quick and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
i made this recipe as is and i thought it was pretty tasty - oh - i substituted almonds for the walnuts and added a small bit of vanilla extract. lastly, i had to use nutmeg - i didn't have cinnamon. but these are small changes. i was particularly impressed with the consistency of the cookie. very moist, almost buttery. the next time i make this i am going to add a little brown sugar, raisins and a little more oatmeal. tahini has a pretty strong flavor so i think you have to keep that in mind as you make these and not be afraid to add a variety of things to the mix to make the overall flavor a little more complex and balanced. great recipe though - i would definitely make these again. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this exact recipe except I did not have any walnuts so I put dark chocolate chips in the mix instead. They turned very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I was very impressed with this recipe, as my detox diet right now is fairly strict - there was nothing I needed to substitute! I did add raisins and about 1/2 cup almonds as well as 2 T soy flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Prepared as written, but baked 2 extra minutes, and probably should have gone for a full 15 (they were too gooey). Don't forget to grease your pan! We got 14 cookies, not 36, and they only lasted about 10 minutes. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States