Tahini Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This turned out much better than I expected, but I didn't follow the recipe to the letter. I had some extra tahini I wanted to use up, and this seemed like a viable way to do it. I made the following adjustments. My oatmeal is a really thick rolled type from Whole Foods, much thicker than Quaker brand, so I anticipated the cookies baking up too dense and hard. To remedy this and facilitate blending, I added about 1/4 cup of warm rice milk, and blended everything in the food processor. This resulted in more finely chopped oatmeal, and ensured the molasses was blended properly by heating it up. I also added a dash of salt. I then pressed everything into a pan and increased the baking time by a few minutes. The mixture was really soft when it came out, so I chilled in the fridge for about 40 minutes. It came out very well; even my picky wife and allergic-to-everything toddler enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I was amazed at how good these are! (These would be GREAT with chocolate chips, but that sort of defeats the purpose of a healthy cookie, doesn't it?) I followed the recipe exactly then drizzled a little more honey after reading reviews. I use black walnuts; don't like raisins. They are delicious warm and very good once cooled. Thanks for sharing. These will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Wow! So much tastier than I expected. I didn't have quick-cooking oats, so I used 4 packets of Cinnamon Spice instant oatmeal instead. I also added raisins. I must have made them bigger, because I only got 24 out of the recipe. Awesome snack and not full of sugar! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Did not like. Family thought I was pulling a prank on them. They seriously thought I was joking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great healthy alternative. I replaced some of the honey with maple syrup, roughly 2 parts honey to 1 part syrup. When I added the 1st cup of oats, the mix looked very dry. This could be because I was using homemade tahini which turned out dryer than the store-bought kind. I added a bit more maple syrup and olive oil till the mixture looked more like batter. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a pinch of salt. I also feel the yield is closer to 2 rather than 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
i did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
So good! Took them to work and everyone wanted more. I used half regular honey and half huckleberry honey, I would not recommend using flavored honey because it takes away from the tahini flavor but great anyway. I also used a trail mix with mixed nuts, raisins and m&ms. Awesome!! Will definitely be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Really easy cookies to make and great flavor. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I used natural almond butter instead of tahini and chopped apple instead of walnuts. I think with these substitutions it was a little too sweet for my liking, so I would reduce the honey next time. The cookies fell apart slightly (I tried warm out of the oven) but this may have been partly because I made larger cookies (laziness) so it may have been moister than the original recipe calls for. Flavor was good overall and very healthy, I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
My husband and I love these easy to make, healthy cookies - we vary them by adding one or more of the following: raisins, dates, coconut, chocolate chips, almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States