Tahini-Battered Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I was intrigued by this concept despite the many negative reviews it received. I decided to give it a try with a few modifications. I used about 6 table spoons tahini instead of 4. I used 2 whole eggs instead of whites only. I used a table spoon of oyster sauce as well as soy. I used up some corriander we had in the fridge. I cut the amount of liquid by half and cut the water with a generous amount of balsamic vinegar. I used white flour since this was what we had on hand. I also added some salt and red chili flakes. I dipped thin slices of extra firm tofu in the batter, leaving some in the bowl. Half way through baking, I poured on the rest of the batter. I baked for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. My partner and I thought this version tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I took a lot of liberties with this recipe based on the previous reviews, and unfortunately it was still pretty bland. It might be quite tasty if you were to use peanut butter (the real stuff) instead of tahini. I rolled mine in sesame seeds before frying and had it in a wrap with tzatziki and tomatoes which wasn't bad... but I don't think I'll make this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Straight up, this wasn't great... The flavor was not there! The batter wouldn't stick to the tofu. So I mixed together everything except the flour. I soaked the tofu in the wet mixture and then coated it in the flour. Then I ended up frying it in a pan until it was lightly fried. Still came out totally tasteless (not TOTALLY but not anything much). I'm throwing these fried tofu cubes in a pad thai dish. Ooohhh ya and I also used 2 whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This is very tasty and good for someone who may not like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
The first time I made this it was very bland and didn't brown very well in the oven. This time I added some garlic and onion salt for a little more flavor. I marinated the tofu in the mixture and then fryed it with some olive oil. I put the browned tofu into a baking pan with cubed potatoes and some dill and more garlic. I baked this for about an hour and a half- until the potatoes were crispy and it really is a lot better. It was pretty much an experimentation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I gave this a try & baked it. It looked ok going into the oven, but I ended up having to bake it for 45 min (!) and it still didn't really brown. Also, it was pretty bland. Sorry - not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This was actually pretty good - I left out the flour and the water and added 2tsp lemon juice and made a paste-like batter. I cooked it in a frying pan with a little olive oil. Stuffed it in a pita with tzatiki and fresh tomatoes! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I had my doubts about this recipe, but I had some tahini and about-to-expire tofu that I wanted to use up. I should've trusted my instincts because this was AWFUL!!! (Sorry "Queenie") It was, in fact, inedible. I chose to bake it; maybe frying would have been better but I won't be giving this one another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States