Taffy Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Oh my. This is so delicious. I didn't have pineapple chunks so i decid to go ahead and try it with the crushed pineapple I did have. I drained it really well and carried on with the recipe. I wasn't sure about the peanuts but I did have some honey roasted peanuts so I decided to add half of what was called for. We liked the crunch the peanuts gave to the salad. When I make this again, and I will for sure make it again, I will used crushed pineapple again. You could eier use nuts or leave them out the salad would be great either way. Thanks for sharing this will be on my potluck rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Loved it. Made it according to the recipe, and it was great. My daughter ran to grab a bowl after I gave her a taste. May try some of the other reviewers suggested changes next time just to taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was super delicious!! Definitely a family favorite from now on. I did add raisins too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I used Planters salted spanish peanuts and granny smith apples and it was delicious I did strain the pineapple in a wire strainer for a good while to make sure all the juice was out. I would definetly make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. It is easy to make and delicious. I made it for a going away party and received raves. I did change and add. I added walnuts instead of peanuts. Taste so much better and used gala apples instead of tart. This is recipe is definitely a keeper. This is also a great recipe with coconut added into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Stice-reese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I mix everything and let it sit overnight as it gets better. I also use 3 apples - usually 2 granny smiths and 1 other apple. The sour flavor of the granny smith apples cuts the sweetness just right. I may try to cut the sugar next time, but it is GREAT as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
A classic favorite for my family! Love serving it with a drizzle of caramel sauce over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Good recipe, mine got a bit too liquified, since all I had on hand was crushed pineapple ,I wont make that same mistake again! I used one granny smith and one red delicious. The combo made for a nice tart and sweet crunch. I also didint peel the apples, it added a nice color to an otherwise white and bland looking salad! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Yum! My mother-in-law introduced me to taffy apple salad many Thanksgiving's ago. I loved it so much, I knew I had to eventually make it myself. This is exactly how my MIL makes hers. The only difference is that she leaves the peels on her apples. I agree that leaving them on adds a nice pop of color. For a pretty presentation, I served this in a large glass bowl and garnished with a few more peanuts. NOTE: ALWAYS add flour (or cornstarch - any thickener) to cold liquid FIRST. The idea is to form a slurry that you add to your other ingredients. If you don't, you'll end up with tiny (unappealing) lumps of undissolved flour that are impossible to blend no matter how long you stir. Other than this obvious oversight, this recipe is spot on. Thanks for sharing, Jeanne. I'm sure my neighbors will gobble up the leftovers I bring over there tomorrow! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Try using honey roasted peanuts instead of Spanish peanuts - it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States