Taffy Apple Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I have used this recipe many times and I have had the best results with comments on how good the salad was when made with Honey Roasted Peanuts. When I first started making this recipe I have changed the nuts from regular peanuts, to dry roasted peanuts, to spanish peanuts but if you make quite a bit and it sits overnight, a lot of times the peanuts will swell and get mealy, but when I have used the recipe with Honey Roasted Peanuts, the salad doesn't stay around for another day, it gets devoured that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was very tasty and well received by children who don't like apples or pineapples. The adults liked it too. The only problem I had was finding raw Spanish peanuts - I just used salted peanuts and it was just fine. I also used one green and one red apple per my children's request. Making it again shortly for an office gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The problem would be with the whipped topping. It was underestimated how the consistency of the whipped topping would change with times being stirred or out of refrigeration during serving, and even simply as it set. It became a bit more slurry then I would have liked, so I'd suggest using 2/3 of the container, if not less. Also the Spanish peanuts have a bit of an overwhelming taste; using unsalted peanuts was a much better addition. Lastly, rather using two apples of the same, I used a red and yellow apple. They added a bit more to the taste pallet (and color ;D). However, me and my family really enjoyed this recipe. After first tasting this at my local grocery store I saught out to make it: this was nearly it and didn't last long at my house! ;) Notes: Don't be timid about how long one should/can heat the vinegar, sugar, egg, flour, and pineapple juice mix ( yes wait for it to thicken on the stove but ) remember once chilled it thickens more. Cut the pineapple chuncks smaller; that way they spread out better for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very good, all it was missing was the carmel! When mixing all the ingediants add carmel, like the kind that you buy in a bottle. squeeze some in and mix it in, then drizzle some on top, not only does it improve the aperance but it adds to the favor and makes it perfict!!!! my husband cant gett enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Exactly how I remember this salad. I used Fuji apples and raw spanish peanuts. Everyone loved this salad at the 4th of July party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe Da

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I doubled this recipe for a family reunion and it turned out great! The only problem I had was finding Spanish peanuts without the red skin. I ended up spending some time and removing some of it before I added it to the dish. This is a delicous recipe! Perfect for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I couldn't find raw spanish peanuts anywhere! I used dry roasted peanuts that I already had. They were not salted. This salad is so yummy. Can't quit eating it. UPDATE: I just made this salad with the raw spanish peanuts and I DO NOT like it! The raw nuts have a weird taste that I don't care for. I wish I had tasted before adding to the salad. :-( I liked it much better with dry roasted peanuts. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Loved this stuff! Made it twice and it was better the second time around with the addition of an extra cup of marshmallows. Will be making this for the next carry-in at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This salad was too rich for our family. Even though I used "Lite Cool Whip" and pineapple in it's natural juice--we (myself, my hubby, and my 5 & 6 year old grandaughters) found we could only eat very small servings. If I make it gain, I will try halfing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is the best Taffy Apple Salad I've ever tasted. Very very yummy! I've made it 3 times and I'm asked for it at every family gathering now!!! THANKS FOR SHARING!! I did use apple cider vinegar like other users suggested....tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States