Taffy Apple Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I was not too impressed with this and neither were my guests. The flavor was good, but the presentation was just wasn't. I made it the same day like others suggested, but it was still watery after sitting out for an hour or so. There was too much whipped topping and you couldn't even tell what was in it. Plus, people were turned off by the peanuts. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Good recipe. I made this for a bonfire we had and everybody loved it. I did use 20oz of pineapple like the other post--I didn't want left over pineapple in the fridge. I also added chopped up snicker bars, because that is what my mom always does--only this was better (but we won't tell her that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was wonderful, co-workers loved it. After reading the reviews I tried to make it look a little more appealing by coring an extra apple, I used red, just for the color and cutting it into wedges drizzled them with a little lemon juice so they wouldn't turn brown and made a flower like design on top starting in the middle of the salad. I also bought a small can of cored whole pineapple, you get about four to a can and cut them in half and sprialed them around the rim of the bowl as an extra garnishment. It did make it look prettier but once they started eating it they could have cared less. Thanks for a great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I've made this salad several times already and always get rave reviews and requests for the recipe. The only thing I changed was using half of the amount of peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This salad was pretty good. I used walnuts instead of peanuts and next time I won't add the egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUMMRZGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheatland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This was yummy! I added a 20 ounce can of pineapple instead of 8 because I didn't want the leftovers in the fridge. This was the best apple salad I have had. The only bad thing I can say is the sauce is not that creamy-it kind of separates, which doesn't make the prettiest salad-but I don't care--it tastes like a carmel apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
We all enjoyed this salad! You can also have it as a desert. It was perfect for our 4th of July BBQ. I used three kinds of apples, granny smith, fuji & red delicious. I also used lite cool whip and it was absolutely delicious! But be sure to make this only a few hours ahead because it does get a bit watery. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is a delicious, light salad that can be served with the meal or as a dessert. Every time I make it I get lots of compliments! Some compare it to a Waldorf salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I took this to a lamaze class reunion . . it was very good. It tastes a lot like a carmel apple. The nuts really make a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schneidewind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Great recipe. An absolute hit with the family. Everyone kept going back until the bowl was empty. cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States