Tacos in Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wonderful recipe !! My wife loved them and ate them for supper four nights in a row !! I added a whole 8 ounces of cream cheese and about a pound more beef, plus a can of refried beans. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious dish! I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. First, since we didn't have ground beef, I used ground chicken. I omitted the salt and chili powder and instead added in an envelope of taco seasoning and some cilantro to the cooked chicken to add extra flavor to the filling. Also, I put a jar of Pace chunky salsa in the bottom of my baking dish to prevent the shells from drying out. Used a can of red enchilada sauce to pour over the shells. I also used one cup of shredded mexican cheese blend and one cup of shredded pepper jack. The shells came out fantastic and we served them with shredded lettuce, sour cream and black olives. Even my picky kids loved them. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was a great dish. The family really enjoyed it. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is a great basic recipe. I did change a few things, however. I used packaged taco seasoning mix instead of the salt and chili powder. Also, because my guy will not eat cream cheese, I used re-fried beans instead. It helped hold the mixture together, and it was very tasty! The cheese I used was a shredded Mexican-blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Turned out very yummy. I added refried beans in each shell, and also sprinkled some taco seasoning over the cheese. Also used enchilada sauce instead of taco sauce. 5 stars with modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M. Bredahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silvis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was good and I will make it again, but it wasn't anything to write home about. I also used taco seasoning, but in addition to the chili pepper and salt, not instead of. I also added some garlic and cumin to the meat to help boost the flavor. Lastly, before adding the cream cheese, I added one can of diced tomato and green chile to the meat. I used a store bought taco sauce, which was ok, but it needed more than the 1 cup suggested. I topped it with light sour cream, which brought out a lot of the flavors. All around it was a hearty and satisfying meal, but it could have used a little extra punch in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey624

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. I usually like quick and easy on a weeknight and this was more involved than I had anticipated. It was good but there were some things I didn't care for. The recipe doesn't say to drain the ground beef after cooking it but I always do, but when you add the seasoning and the cream cheese it was very dry, there was nothing to "simmer" so I kept adding water, a little at a time to moisten it. I also felt it needed something else so I did add some of the cheese to the ground beef mixture. After thinking about it, I should have used the taco sauce for more flavor. I finished the recipe as stated but I didnt like the crushed tortilla chips on the top, it looked like a mess when it came out of the oven. I could have just served these shells with the chips on the side and melted the cheese in the microwave. My 11yo son loved it, I thought it was good and my husband thought it was so so. I probably won't make again because it was time consuming and didn't yeild great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
So good yet simple! Served it with a salad to offset the guilty feelings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Never made (or heard of) this twost on tacos. It was easy and good though. Everyone enjoyed it. I did add black beans (which I try to do whenever I think I can get away with it and it really added a nice texture.). Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Fantastic! I made this exactly as the recipes states. It was so delicious. The cream cheese added to the meat gives this dish the perfect amount of richness. This will be a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States