Tacos in Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is a new favorite in our house! I think this is a great make-ahead dish and it's easy to modify to suit your tastes. I used taco seasoning instead of the chili powder and salt and also used ground turkey. I added garlic powder to the meat while browning and added a splash of water to the taco seasoning. Instead of taco sauce, I used half a small can of Rotel mild chiles and tomatoes to add to the dish before adding the shells and then used the rest of the can over the top along with some marinara sauce (I also skipped buttering the shells). Added some black olives to the top before adding the cheeses. This was very tasty! So glad to have leftovers! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was pretty good, and a good starting point. I'm not sure why people rated it poorly when there is ample time to make adjustments. It's not like something that you toss in the crock pot and can't taste. Anyway. I omitted the salt, added a package of taco seasoning and some cumin and oregano to suit our tastes, put in 4oz cream cheese, and added some of the shredded to the meat mix. No butter, just threw them in some cold water to stop the cooking and keep them separated. I didn't have taco sauce so I put salsa in the blender and added some enchilada sauce. I thought they were really good. The 2 year old didn't care for them but the hubby and I liked them. Next time I will omit the chips during cooking, they got kinda soggy. This is something I would make ahead a bunch at a time and freeze for my crazy days. A good meal that is quick, different, and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Love it! I tweaked as well subbing turkey meat most times. But I've also used diced chicken and chorizo - all times delish. Kids love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I added taco seasoning packet and some chopped green chilies and red and green peppers. put most of the taco sauce in meat. little on top. 3/13 Kids like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Great recipe...family loved it, easy to make. Several adjustments we made were using four cheese spaghetti sauce as a substitute for the taco sauce. We also ran out of meet filling so we filled the rest with cottage cheese...just as good or better! The cottage cheese shells we covered with olives and mushrooms as well. We also put some salsa on the top with the sour cream when we ate....amazing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buschjb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I usually double the recipe and I made a few changes to the recipe: I use taco seasoning instead of chili seasoning and I top with a can of tomatoes and chiles as well as the taco sauce. I also use any 3 random bags of cheese (mexican, taco, monterrey, cheddar, colby jack). I have found it doesn't matter which cheeses I use it is always a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Thank you sooo much for this recipe!! I have made it just as written and I have also taken the ingredients and just used them as a sauce for pasta. This has become my 16 year olds favorite meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Simple to make, good to eat. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Love it! I make this all the time. I make taco seasoning from this site and use that instead of the suggested spices. I also use salsa instead of taco sauce and the full block of cream cheese. Bake for 15 minutes. Quick and easy. For 1 lb. of beef, I use 10 shells. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These tasted great and the family loved them. Stuffing hot pasta shells was a little tricky for me, so I might make again and use manicotti or maybe just dump it all in a pan and make a casserole out of it. Either way, I'm sure I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States