Tacos in Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
A wonderfully creative twist and addition to basic Mexican cuisine! This is one creative cook to think of using large pasta shells in a Mexican dish! My hat go off to you, Grannycancook! I did follow the advise that quite a few had in using taco seasoning in place of the chili powder and salt. I used an envelope to 1 lb ground turkey. Also added 1/2 tsp minced garlic and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis (Rotel brand). Instead of taco sauce I substituted red enchilada sauce (28 oz) pouring a thin layer on the bottom of the baking dish before filling with a layer of the stuffed pasta shells and pouring rest of sauce to cover the shells. Once they were baked I topped with chopped fresh cilantro, sliced black olives, sliced green onions and fresh diced tomatoes. For sides I served refried beans covered with enchilada sauce and melted Mexican blend cheese and Lime Cilantro Rice following recipe from this web site. Excellent, excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Fantastic! I did use Neufatchel cheese and a little more than called for. I also added a few more spices. Topped with black olives, diced tomatoes, and sour cream (as mentioned in the introduction), as well as chopped cilantro. I did spread some taco sauce on the bottom of the dish, as I was afraid of the shells drying out during baking. I stuffed the shells early in the day, refrigerated, then let them sit on the counter to warm up a bit while the oven preheated. Turned out great. We loved these, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Yummy! I tweeked the recipe just a little. I substituted a package of taco seasoning for the salt and chili powder and I used speghetti sauce instead of taco sauce. I thought that it could use about twice as much sauce as the recipe calls for. It just didnt seem like there was quite enough to go around. This is the perfect recipe for the crumbs at the bottom of the bag of chips. My bag was about half full but I tipped it to the side and got the crumbs out of the bottom so I didnt have to use any of the "good" chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
We loved this and it was better the next day. I didn't have taco sauce so I whizzed salsa in the processor and I added a little cayenne pepper (I like things spicy). One thing I would do next time is to pour a little sauce on the bottom of the casserole. We found the shells got a little crispy. I mixed the cheeses and (I substituted corn chips) corn chips together then sprinkled over casserole. My daughter suggested that this would be good even without the shells. Will defiantly make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
An excellent quickie!! I left out the chips and used manicotti tubes instead of shells. Then I topped with a layer of refried beans, shredded lettuce, and shredded cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars based on the concept. I changed some things to add flavor because I knew it would be too bland for us as is. I used 4 oz cream cheese and added 1 tsp each of oregano, cumin and cayenne to the chili powder. I also replaced the taco sauce with salsa, slightly covering the bottom of the pan as well to prevent drying and sticking. I omitted the crumbled chips. Next time I will also add refried beans and olives. It was really good with the kicked up flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I subbed a bit because I stubbornly refuse to measure ingredients. I used the full 8 oz of cream cheese, ground turkey and threw a can of rotele in with the meat. This gave me enough stuffing for the full box of shells. The entire family really enjoyed this dish and I'll definitely add it to the rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I cooked this recipe as is. It easy to prepare and didn't take long to clean up. Everyone ate this meal but all went overboard on the sour cream and salsa because there wasn't much flavor. We eat a lot of Mexican & spicy foods and expected some flavor which this did not have. I didn't really like the cruncy tortilla chips, they were distracting. The taste just doesn't justify the high calories/choloestrol, etc. in this recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
We liked this. I did use taco seasoning in the meat mixture. I think it had great flavor. I added a thin layer of salsa to the bottom of my 13x9 so that the shells wouldn't stick and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Suggestions: I used double the taco sauce. Also it seems very important to soften the cream cheese before adding it to the ground beef. It was very yummy and kids will love it. My daughter enjoyed helping me stuff the shells, this pasta shape is great for kids to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States