Tacos in Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was good and I will make it again, but it wasn't anything to write home about. I also used taco seasoning, but in addition to the chili pepper and salt, not instead of. I also added some garlic and cumin to the meat to help boost the flavor. Lastly, before adding the cream cheese, I added one can of diced tomato and green chile to the meat. I used a store bought taco sauce, which was ok, but it needed more than the 1 cup suggested. I topped it with light sour cream, which brought out a lot of the flavors. All around it was a hearty and satisfying meal, but it could have used a little extra punch in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey624

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. I usually like quick and easy on a weeknight and this was more involved than I had anticipated. It was good but there were some things I didn't care for. The recipe doesn't say to drain the ground beef after cooking it but I always do, but when you add the seasoning and the cream cheese it was very dry, there was nothing to "simmer" so I kept adding water, a little at a time to moisten it. I also felt it needed something else so I did add some of the cheese to the ground beef mixture. After thinking about it, I should have used the taco sauce for more flavor. I finished the recipe as stated but I didnt like the crushed tortilla chips on the top, it looked like a mess when it came out of the oven. I could have just served these shells with the chips on the side and melted the cheese in the microwave. My 11yo son loved it, I thought it was good and my husband thought it was so so. I probably won't make again because it was time consuming and didn't yeild great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
So good yet simple! Served it with a salad to offset the guilty feelings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jami1026
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Never made (or heard of) this twost on tacos. It was easy and good though. Everyone enjoyed it. I did add black beans (which I try to do whenever I think I can get away with it and it really added a nice texture.). Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Fantastic! I made this exactly as the recipes states. It was so delicious. The cream cheese added to the meat gives this dish the perfect amount of richness. This will be a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I added more cream cheese and even added taco seasoning to the ground beef for extra flavor! Also, learned that you need more taco sauce than it calls for so I just supplemented with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My husband loved it! I personally thought it was too salty... next time I'm not going to add any salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very good and easy to tweek to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Yummy and easy. Everyone in the house enjoyed this simple to make tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was fabulous. I too, like other reviewers, used taco seasoning vs. chili powder. It was a bit dry, so next time, I will water down the taco sauce a bit. This was a fun twist on traditional shells. We loved it! Will definitely make again :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci
Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States