Tacos in Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I took note of the many suggestions, and this is one of those recipes that actually turned out "Wow" first try! After a 1/2 dozen batches, my tweaks include mixing 1 pkg reduced-sodium taco seasoning, 2 tsp minced garlic (love it), 1 can Rotel diced tomatoes & chilies, and light cream cheese into browned turkey. Toss cooked shells in lime juice instead of butter. I use 28 oz. green (prefer over red) enchilada sauce instead of the taco sauce (served w/ green salsa to match). Top w/ reduced-fat Mexican blend cheese. Finally, I mix 1 tbsp each lime juice and fresh chopped cilatro (and lime zest if I feel exotic) into 1 boil-in bag of cooked rice -- goes like a dream on the side! No kidding, I now get cheers when I just say I'm going shopping for the ingredients for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is such an easy win win with my family any time. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Really good, but I need to double the recipe for my family. Maybe I'm over-filling the shells, but it seems to work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Loved these! I was a little leary of the cream cheese, but it was wonderful. I forgot to top with sour cream when serving, but we sure didn't miss it. I also ended up with about 24 shells filled, so I used a bit more taco sauce (I actually used half taco sauce, half salsa) when covering the shells before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Fantastic & simple. I always have jumbo shells in the pantry now in case I start craving these. Made them for dinner guests and they raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondzila1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Ok, let me just say my kids devoured the shells. They loved them and so did I. Both asked for them again two days later. lol Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Quick, easy, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
this was such a creative twist on tacos + stuffed shells! very easy to make, but i give it 4 stars because making it the first time, it lacked taco flavor. the second time around i added in taco seasoning to the meat & cream cheese mixture. i also recommend softening the cream cheese before adding it in with the ground beef. it isn't necessary to coat the shells in butter, so i also skipped that the second time around and they still came out great. another recommendation i would make (based on taste preferences) is to add some diced tomatos, olives, green onion, etc... to top them off. great twist on tacos and good, creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Followed the reviews of others and used taco seasoning packet in place of chili powder. Extremely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made this for my family, who love Mexican food. Every week we have something Mexican so I wanted to find something a little different and found this gem. It was fantastic and my kids and husband raved about it. I used tortilla chips with a hint of lime and jalapeno and added a little sour cream to the meat mixture. A fantastic dish and is definitely a 'do again'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States