Tacos in Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Way better than your average taco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I used 15 shells and a pound of hamburger. I diced half a large onion and cooked it with the meat. I used chili powder and cumin liberally, but no salt. I also eye-balled the cream cheese, and added until it stuck together nicely. I skipped the butter, and used green enchilada sauce and salsa verde instead of taco sauce. I baked the first round 8 minutes (non foil) and the second 15. I forgot the tortilla chips, though I was planning to follow the masa mash recipeanother reviewer had posted. I served with sour cream and cilantro. loved it, husband liked it pretty well. I'd try the taco seasoning mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very good. The only thing i did different was add taco seasoning to the meat like making a regular taco so it wasnt so bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Definitely putting this into the rotation! Make more than the servings call for though, since all the filling is meat, a little extra is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I rated this 5 stars with my modifications!!! I used taco seasoning instead of the salt and chili powder. I ommited the butter, definitely didn't need it. I added diced petite tomatoes, green chilis, and refried beans to the meat mixture. I didn't use the crushed tortilla chips either. I used an entire box of jumbo shells, because the meat mixture definitely makes enough for TWO 9 X 13 pans. I froze the other for later! VERY YUMMY and I will be making it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lunchlady88
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
wasn't that impressed with this dish..It wasn't that bad but just expected it to be better...The Pasta shell seemed very thick and maybe a different shell should be used...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I added a thin layer of refried beans on the bottom of the 9X13. This kept the shells in place. One of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is a new favorite in our house! I think this is a great make-ahead dish and it's easy to modify to suit your tastes. I used taco seasoning instead of the chili powder and salt and also used ground turkey. I added garlic powder to the meat while browning and added a splash of water to the taco seasoning. Instead of taco sauce, I used half a small can of Rotel mild chiles and tomatoes to add to the dish before adding the shells and then used the rest of the can over the top along with some marinara sauce (I also skipped buttering the shells). Added some black olives to the top before adding the cheeses. This was very tasty! So glad to have leftovers! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was pretty good, and a good starting point. I'm not sure why people rated it poorly when there is ample time to make adjustments. It's not like something that you toss in the crock pot and can't taste. Anyway. I omitted the salt, added a package of taco seasoning and some cumin and oregano to suit our tastes, put in 4oz cream cheese, and added some of the shredded to the meat mix. No butter, just threw them in some cold water to stop the cooking and keep them separated. I didn't have taco sauce so I put salsa in the blender and added some enchilada sauce. I thought they were really good. The 2 year old didn't care for them but the hubby and I liked them. Next time I will omit the chips during cooking, they got kinda soggy. This is something I would make ahead a bunch at a time and freeze for my crazy days. A good meal that is quick, different, and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Love it! I tweaked as well subbing turkey meat most times. But I've also used diced chicken and chorizo - all times delish. Kids love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States