Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe for ground beef tacos. The beef got so soft. I served with mexican rice and refried beans recipes that I got here too. It was a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
We LOVED this recipe!!! Delicious! I substituted the ground chuck with lean ground beef, spiced it up a bit with jalepenos and also served it with limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Wonderful recipe for ground beef taco meat! This is indeed how it is made in mexico.. although in the states we are more used to browning the meat first and then adding packaged seasonings (which are always high in sodium). If possible, drain the meat really well and chill the broth. You will get the best separation of fat, broth and ...well...sludge. Toss the fat, gently scoop out the broth that has set up (kinda like jello) and toss the rest. I returned all the chilled broth to meat and simmered it on med. high to reduce the amount of liquid.. there is no sense tossing all of that flavor infused broth that adds to much to the taste! Thanks for the great authentic recipe! Love the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very authentic! I didn't realize it when I started this recipe that it's time consuming so I started it one night & finished the next. Used lean ground beef. It's delicious. Use the authentic cheese which is saltier than we are used to. It goes perfect with the less salty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This was VERY good. I've eaten many times in Matamoros and Progresso Mexico (Garcia's and Angel's restaurants) and this IS what it tastes like. I doubled the recipe for a party of 7. Everyone loved it! Will try it in taco salad next time. Pay no attention to the bad review. It's worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very moist and tasty! I added 4 cloves of fresh garlic along with the garlic powder. I added most of the juices back into the meat after the fat was removed and the spices were perfect! My husband who really doesn't care for tacos thinks this one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Mmmmm...these are authentic TexMex tacos indeed. They were very very good. These aren't spicy or not at all like the dried package taco mix tacos, this is more subtle, just like you'll get in any South Texas Taqueria when you order the crispy taco. Don't expect Taco Bell as this is definitely not it. This is real mexican home cookin'! This is easy to spice up to your preference. The second time added 1/2 t. chipotle chili pepper powder, and doubled the chili powder. Easy to fix, very tasty, definite TexMex flavor here. Thanks Rhonda35, I love all your recipes, I wish you had more to share, they are good home cooking! I use ground round or sirloin and don't have any grease to drain. I also use chicken broth in addition to the water when cooking the beef. I don't drain any juice, I just simmer it until it has reduced adding more broth (chicken or beef whatever is handy) as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This taco meat is really, really yummy. My whole family loved it! My 3 year old ate 3 tacos and wanted them for lunch the next day! Will absolutely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madnate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I really loved this! Im not a fan of the seasoning packets for taco meat and have been looking for a recipe that doesn't taste like it...well I have found my new taco recipe! Very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I finally figured out how restaurants get their taco meat so yummy-boiling it!! I've always cooked mine in the pan with blah results. I love the fine, soft texture of the meat cooked like this. I used lean ground beef, and also used about a cup of the liquid, b/c we like it a little juicy. Nice flavor! I never had to add extra water, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States