Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I was intrigued by the recipe and was hoping it would surprise me, but it didn't. For the amount of spices I put in, it was very bland. I did like the texture of the meat simmering in water. I think this could be a very good recipe with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
SO good! My hubs requested tacos for dinner tonight. I remembered stumbling upon this recipe a couple of week's ago, thinking the preparation method seemed unique and wanting to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! These were the tastiest (albeit basic) tacos I've made in a long while! Queso asadero, tomato, onion and a dash of taco sauce made these extra yummy. Mexican rice and frijoles rounded out our casual meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Rhonda! You made taco night extra special. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Closest thing to authentic I have yet found plus it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I use this now instead of packaged taco seasoning. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very easy to prepare but isn't very special. Tastes ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I used a red bell pepper instead of green and I increased both the amounts of the bell pepper and the onion to whole instead of half. I also did NOT use the full amount of salt, just enough to taste. Authentic or not, our family liked this "taco" meat. I made a Make-Your-Own-Taco-Bar last night, using this meat and with the other toppings, I also added more chopped onion, avocado, and homemade salsa. There wasn't much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is a much better way to prepare tacos! I was taught by a friend how to make it a similar way years ago and haven't gone back to those packaged taco seasonings since. Instead of just water I use canned tomatoes (diced, crushed or whole) with all the liquid. If I have fresh tomatoes then I use a blender to liquefy it before adding it to the meat. I add water as needed to cover the meat if there's not enough liquid from the tomatoes. If I don't have a bell pepper on hand sometimes I use a small can of diced chiles that work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIEBEAN16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I am the original poster of this recipe.. an addition would be to simmer the ground meat.. whether it be a combination of turkey/beef/or pork in fat free Swanson chicken broth and definitely add 3 to 5 bay leaves to the meat/broth mixture.. adjust the seasonings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My kids won't eat taco meat seasoned with grocery store packets. This recipe, especially the technique, makes the meat a totally different texture, and much more pleasing to my family overall. I'm curious to try it seasoned different ways, but have made it several times this way. The crumbly, salty cheese is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States