Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very boring. I like the consistency, but the meat had very little flavor. I even use quality spices from Penzey's. I won't bother to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fl_diner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
These tacos got me motivated to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Stettner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was quite pleased with this recipe. I didn't read the directions before starting and just assumed I should brown the beef. So I browned & drained the beef, then added the seasonings, peppers, onions and water. Simmered for 30 minutes. I did end up adding a little more of the seasonings due to it being a little bland for my tastes. I will use this recipe again, maybe next time I can follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
What a great alternative to "the packet"! I love the seasonings for this beef filling. I use an entire onion and pepper and do add a little chipotle powder for smokiness, along with 2/3 cup low sodium beef broth. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR, outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been searching for a recipe for the Taco John's taco meat and this is the best I have found. I added a little more spice, some oregano, and I threw in a couple tablespoons of tomato paste. The cooking method is what gives it the texture I was looking for. Thank you, I will never buy packaged mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These were so much better than your average homemade tacos. A little more time consuming to make, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this for a large group of 30+ increased to over 10 pounds of beef. I added more spices and jazzed it up a bit. Kept meat warm in Dutch Ovens setting on bed of coals. Set it up on large outdoor tables in a taco bar style with soft corn and hard taco shell choices with bowls of additional chopped onion,tomatoes, shredded lettuce,grated cheeses, sour cream, avocados,olives and jalapenos. How could you go wrong? Everyone fixed theirs the way they preferred. Not one spoonful was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3mtntops

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Draper, Utah, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Made exactly per the recipe and it is wonderful. I personally would omit the garlic powder, but other than that it is a winner. Authentic version of a classic American dish- my mom is from New Mexico and didn't have a taco until she was a teen visiting California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
So good it should be illegal. I used twice the onion, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this recipe for my Bunco Group's Cinco de Mayo party. Did cut down on the chili powder and paprika by half and used ground turkey. It was a hit. Everyone loved the taco bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States