Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Wonderful recipe for ground beef taco meat! This is indeed how it is made in mexico.. although in the states we are more used to browning the meat first and then adding packaged seasonings (which are always high in sodium). If possible, drain the meat really well and chill the broth. You will get the best separation of fat, broth and ...well...sludge. Toss the fat, gently scoop out the broth that has set up (kinda like jello) and toss the rest. I returned all the chilled broth to meat and simmered it on med. high to reduce the amount of liquid.. there is no sense tossing all of that flavor infused broth that adds to much to the taste! Thanks for the great authentic recipe! Love the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This was VERY good. I've eaten many times in Matamoros and Progresso Mexico (Garcia's and Angel's restaurants) and this IS what it tastes like. I doubled the recipe for a party of 7. Everyone loved it! Will try it in taco salad next time. Pay no attention to the bad review. It's worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I would have given this a five star, if I didnt have to change it so much. I added 1/4 cup chopped onion, 1 large roma tomato chopped, 1/3 cup of corn (our personal fav version), and salt, pepper, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, and 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. put in fried tortilla shells, topped with tomato, salsa, lettuce, and sour cream and it was delicious, I guess I can say thanks for the inspiration, the recipe as written wasnt that great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
uh, no, this is *not* authentic-tasting. i grew up in deep south texas, then lived in laredo for 5 (long) years. with all the rave reviews, i thought i was in for a treat and ditched my own way of making taco meat. i was so dissappointed last night that i made another batch today using way more spice, since the orig. is quite bland. it was better, but not great. i sooooo disagree with the boiling method and cannot ever remember eating a taco with this consistency in matamoros, reynosa, progresso, nuevo laredo, mexico city, monterrey, san miguel, etc, etc, and all points in between. i honestly thought the second batch would be a huge hit, but even with the zippier spices (jalapenos, way more garlic, oregano, cayenne, diced tomatoes, potatoes, etc), no cigar. authentic taco meat *is* supp. to be soft, just not soft and slightly rubbery. we'll eat this pot full o' mush cuz anything is pretty much edible wrapped in a tortilla heaped with sour cream, cheese and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I used a red bell pepper instead of green and I increased both the amounts of the bell pepper and the onion to whole instead of half. I also did NOT use the full amount of salt, just enough to taste. Authentic or not, our family liked this "taco" meat. I made a Make-Your-Own-Taco-Bar last night, using this meat and with the other toppings, I also added more chopped onion, avocado, and homemade salsa. There wasn't much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I thought these were just okay. They were very soft but they just didnt have much flavor to me. I added about a 1/4 teaspoon extra of the seasonings which helped a little but not much. We ate them the first night and had lots of leftovers so I made chili out of the meat and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I am the original poster of this recipe.. an addition would be to simmer the ground meat.. whether it be a combination of turkey/beef/or pork in fat free Swanson chicken broth and definitely add 3 to 5 bay leaves to the meat/broth mixture.. adjust the seasonings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very authentic! I didn't realize it when I started this recipe that it's time consuming so I started it one night & finished the next. Used lean ground beef. It's delicious. Use the authentic cheese which is saltier than we are used to. It goes perfect with the less salty meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent, excellent way to cook taco meat. I have hated the packaged seasoning for so long and never use up a whole batch if I make my own, so this makes sense for us. I halved the recipe and there was still enough meat for three meals for two of us. Simmering in water is just the *perfect* way to make the meat tender and tasty! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very moist and tasty! I added 4 cloves of fresh garlic along with the garlic powder. I added most of the juices back into the meat after the fat was removed and the spices were perfect! My husband who really doesn't care for tacos thinks this one is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States