Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
very good. i just threw in all spices, chopped onion, garlic, bell pepper, and enough water to cover. let it boil for 45mins to an hour, drain and save about a 1/2 cup of liquid to keep moist. bring to a boil again and serve with hard and soft shells. beats the packaged stuff any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe for just the two of us and it was perfect. I think I may leave out the bell pepper next time and up some of the spices. Made wonderful tacos with my Mexican Rice II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This turned out great! If you think the seasoning is on the bland side, just up the amounts a bit. I made this a day ahead of time and let the meat soak in the broth and fat. I wouldn't recommend skimming the fat off since that's where all the flavor is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
With a few adjustments to the seasonings, this turned out great. I browned the meat a little before adding the water. I debated whether or not to add a can of tomato sauce to the mix. I didn't, but probably will next time. Nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I thought this was a decent way to make taco meat. Someone else on this site talked about cooking your ground beef in water for some other recipes. I will probably make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Fantastic meat for Tacos! WOW, no more taco seasoning packets for us! I put this in the crock pot, and cooked for 2 1/2 hrs. I wanted more heat, so I added 1 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper. This recipe is better than any I've ever had in a Mexican restaurant! You control the heat and the salt in this recipe! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very Good. I will have to do some tweaking next time. As it was a little bland. I am thinking it could use some chipotle peppers in it while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Great addition to our Mexican feast! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a good recipe though I had to add extra seasoning and a little salsa too it to bring flavor to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl104

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I thought this was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States