Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
very good. i just threw in all spices, chopped onion, garlic, bell pepper, and enough water to cover. let it boil for 45mins to an hour, drain and save about a 1/2 cup of liquid to keep moist. bring to a boil again and serve with hard and soft shells. beats the packaged stuff any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe for just the two of us and it was perfect. I think I may leave out the bell pepper next time and up some of the spices. Made wonderful tacos with my Mexican Rice II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This turned out great! If you think the seasoning is on the bland side, just up the amounts a bit. I made this a day ahead of time and let the meat soak in the broth and fat. I wouldn't recommend skimming the fat off since that's where all the flavor is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
With a few adjustments to the seasonings, this turned out great. I browned the meat a little before adding the water. I debated whether or not to add a can of tomato sauce to the mix. I didn't, but probably will next time. Nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I thought this was a decent way to make taco meat. Someone else on this site talked about cooking your ground beef in water for some other recipes. I will probably make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Fantastic meat for Tacos! WOW, no more taco seasoning packets for us! I put this in the crock pot, and cooked for 2 1/2 hrs. I wanted more heat, so I added 1 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper. This recipe is better than any I've ever had in a Mexican restaurant! You control the heat and the salt in this recipe! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very Good. I will have to do some tweaking next time. As it was a little bland. I am thinking it could use some chipotle peppers in it while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Great addition to our Mexican feast! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a good recipe though I had to add extra seasoning and a little salsa too it to bring flavor to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl104

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I thought this was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States