Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
good...I added ALOT more of the spices just based on my preference...I love the idea of the simmering...gives it great texture and really lets the flavor set in...I won't be buying taco seasoning anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This will be my new go to taco meat. tasted like some of our local mexican restaurants. thanks i will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Really delicious. So much better than a taco seasoning packet. My whole family devoured it. They definitely want it again. I have high blood pressure so making something so flavorfu and not super salty was an added bonus. I am not a fan of corn tortillas so we subbed flour tortillas and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Best taco meat ever! I've made this several times and am just getting around to rating it. I've recommended the recipe to family and friends and they all love it too! I use ground turkey and always save the liquid I drain off to season pinto beans. Just cook the dry pinto beans as directed and add the reserved liquid once the beans are tender. If you chill the reserved liquid you can easily remove the layer of fat from the top. Helps to save a few calories. Thank you for the great recipe RHONDA35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
very good. i just threw in all spices, chopped onion, garlic, bell pepper, and enough water to cover. let it boil for 45mins to an hour, drain and save about a 1/2 cup of liquid to keep moist. bring to a boil again and serve with hard and soft shells. beats the packaged stuff any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I halved the recipe for just the two of us and it was perfect. I think I may leave out the bell pepper next time and up some of the spices. Made wonderful tacos with my Mexican Rice II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This turned out great! If you think the seasoning is on the bland side, just up the amounts a bit. I made this a day ahead of time and let the meat soak in the broth and fat. I wouldn't recommend skimming the fat off since that's where all the flavor is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
With a few adjustments to the seasonings, this turned out great. I browned the meat a little before adding the water. I debated whether or not to add a can of tomato sauce to the mix. I didn't, but probably will next time. Nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I thought this was a decent way to make taco meat. Someone else on this site talked about cooking your ground beef in water for some other recipes. I will probably make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Fantastic meat for Tacos! WOW, no more taco seasoning packets for us! I put this in the crock pot, and cooked for 2 1/2 hrs. I wanted more heat, so I added 1 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper. This recipe is better than any I've ever had in a Mexican restaurant! You control the heat and the salt in this recipe! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States