Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
These tacos got me motivated to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Stettner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was quite pleased with this recipe. I didn't read the directions before starting and just assumed I should brown the beef. So I browned & drained the beef, then added the seasonings, peppers, onions and water. Simmered for 30 minutes. I did end up adding a little more of the seasonings due to it being a little bland for my tastes. I will use this recipe again, maybe next time I can follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
What a great alternative to "the packet"! I love the seasonings for this beef filling. I use an entire onion and pepper and do add a little chipotle powder for smokiness, along with 2/3 cup low sodium beef broth. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR, outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been searching for a recipe for the Taco John's taco meat and this is the best I have found. I added a little more spice, some oregano, and I threw in a couple tablespoons of tomato paste. The cooking method is what gives it the texture I was looking for. Thank you, I will never buy packaged mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These were so much better than your average homemade tacos. A little more time consuming to make, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this for a large group of 30+ increased to over 10 pounds of beef. I added more spices and jazzed it up a bit. Kept meat warm in Dutch Ovens setting on bed of coals. Set it up on large outdoor tables in a taco bar style with soft corn and hard taco shell choices with bowls of additional chopped onion,tomatoes, shredded lettuce,grated cheeses, sour cream, avocados,olives and jalapenos. How could you go wrong? Everyone fixed theirs the way they preferred. Not one spoonful was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3mtntops

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Draper, Utah, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Made exactly per the recipe and it is wonderful. I personally would omit the garlic powder, but other than that it is a winner. Authentic version of a classic American dish- my mom is from New Mexico and didn't have a taco until she was a teen visiting California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
So good it should be illegal. I used twice the onion, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this recipe for my Bunco Group's Cinco de Mayo party. Did cut down on the chili powder and paprika by half and used ground turkey. It was a hit. Everyone loved the taco bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
For the amount of spices I put in, it was very bland. I did like the texture of the meat simmering in water. I think this could be a very good recipe with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States