Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this for a large group of 30+ increased to over 10 pounds of beef. I added more spices and jazzed it up a bit. Kept meat warm in Dutch Ovens setting on bed of coals. Set it up on large outdoor tables in a taco bar style with soft corn and hard taco shell choices with bowls of additional chopped onion,tomatoes, shredded lettuce,grated cheeses, sour cream, avocados,olives and jalapenos. How could you go wrong? Everyone fixed theirs the way they preferred. Not one spoonful was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3mtntops

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Draper, Utah, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Made exactly per the recipe and it is wonderful. I personally would omit the garlic powder, but other than that it is a winner. Authentic version of a classic American dish- my mom is from New Mexico and didn't have a taco until she was a teen visiting California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
So good it should be illegal. I used twice the onion, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this recipe for my Bunco Group's Cinco de Mayo party. Did cut down on the chili powder and paprika by half and used ground turkey. It was a hit. Everyone loved the taco bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
For the amount of spices I put in, it was very bland. I did like the texture of the meat simmering in water. I think this could be a very good recipe with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
SO good! My hubs requested tacos for dinner tonight. I remembered stumbling upon this recipe a couple of week's ago, thinking the preparation method seemed unique and wanting to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! These were the tastiest (albeit basic) tacos I've made in a long while! Queso asadero, tomato, onion and a dash of taco sauce made these extra yummy. Mexican rice and frijoles rounded out our casual meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Rhonda! You made taco night extra special. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Closest thing to authentic I have yet found plus it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I use this now instead of packaged taco seasoning. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very easy to prepare but isn't very special. Tastes ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States