Taco in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
In Texas, these are called "Frito Pie"...so popular that they serve it on the school menu for lunch. To make it even quicker, use canned chili (with or without beans, your choice) in place of the taco meat, and top with shredded cheddar cheese. Heat and eat! Can't get much easier than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
So I modified this to serve as a quick adult dinner. Made everything according to directions except instead of serving in the bag, I served in two platic containers with lids, shook well, and we ate right out of the container. Dinner then clean up done lickety-split. Also, I added some zesty ranch dressing. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I loved this idea. We are painting the house and I wanted something quick with little clean up. I did like another reviewer and put these in gladware and just did a shake instead of a chip bag. I also used Doritos insted of the corn chips for more of a kick. I added some guacamole and lots more cheese (we like it that way). It was delicious and so easy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We call these walking taco's at my house. They are a family favorite, with doritos. We open the bag from the side instead of the top to make them easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Quite simply, the BEST RECIPE on this Website. Gordon Ramsey can go kick rocks...this is in a realm of its own and the first recipe listed to unofficially receive a 6th Star Rating...though you can't see it. Darn! I added Spicy Chipotle Ranch to it and it nearly floored me with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Pangle*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These are so good! This recipe is great the way it is, but using doritos instead of regular corn chips kicks it up even more!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I'm a Frito addict. These are great as written, or with canned chili instead of taco meat for the traditional "Frito Pie". If you want gourmet or if you want healthy, run far, far away! But if you want something fun, easy and different, this is your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I'm a Senior in high school in West Virginia, the state really doesn't matter only I don't know if they have done our variation anywhere else, they're so popular that our school uses them for fundraisers; but we use Nacho Cheese Doritos instead of corn chips and it's REALLY good too, and easy if you buy the smaller bag and just throw your lettuce and such in the bag. If you haven't tried this recipe, you really should!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
We made these when we went camping and it was soooo easy and not much clean up. The kids could pick and choose the toppings and just loved the idea. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
My whole family loves these taco's, and they are so easy to fix....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States