Taco in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Our church made these last night for a children's activity in the park. We all loved them, especially the little clean-up involved!! We did provide plates and some kids dumped theirs out and ate it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is one of our favorite 'quick' picnic recipes, too!! I live about 45 mins from the Bridge Festival in IN and that is where we got the idea from, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Funny looks turned into big smiles when I served these at a party recently. They were quick, easy, different and definitely a big hit with adults and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This recipe was so much fun! My 4 and 7 year old daughters thought it was so neat! I will definitely plan to use this recipe on a camping trip or maybe just to make supper fun on a summer day! Thanks for the super idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHATTOEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This idea originated at and was first served at the 1982 Worlds Fair in Knoxville, TN. It's called a "Petro" and is still served at Petro restaurants all over the area. I am proud to have eaten one of the first ever served the week the fair opened. You can make them yourself, but as they say, "Ain't nothin' like the real thing baby"! Thanks for the memories....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I'm a Frito addict. These are great as written, or with canned chili instead of taco meat for the traditional "Frito Pie". If you want gourmet or if you want healthy, run far, far away! But if you want something fun, easy and different, this is your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This is a good recipe, however I don't think it is worth the amount of calories involved per serving!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Excellent and fun! My kids (and my husband) loved it! We used nacho cheese Doritos. I also added a can of corn (drained) and dark red kidney beans (rinsed and drained) to the meat while it was simmering in the taco spices to help stretch the meal a bit. Later, we had extra meat mix left over and my husband heated it up for a snack - he said it wasn't nearly the same without the chips. He may not go back to home tacos the old way again! It was certainly easier on my kids than regular tacos - their shells would break on the first bite every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
So I modified this to serve as a quick adult dinner. Made everything according to directions except instead of serving in the bag, I served in two platic containers with lids, shook well, and we ate right out of the container. Dinner then clean up done lickety-split. Also, I added some zesty ranch dressing. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
In North Dakota we use nacho cheese chips such as doritos to give them a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States