Taco Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The corn tortillas just don't wrap well, they break and spring apart. I would suggest flour tortillas. The flavor of the dip itself is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I have just made something like these, I made a few changes to what I had, so it wouldnt be fair for me to say I have made this exact recipe. I used flour tortillas, almost a whole pack of cream cheese, maybe 1/2 pack of taco seasoning, I threw in some taco blend shredded cheese, came out good, just seemed a bit salty from the taco seasoning, but i also didnt use a full pack of cream cheese either, if i had then it may have not been to salty, my fault..i used picante sauce for dipping..It was good, jalepenos are a good idea but i didnt put any on since the kids were eating it too, Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Maybe it was the corn tortillas? My tortillas were thick and were hard to roll up and I couldn't even take a bite. I make a similar item using flour tortilla so I have to say I think that was the main problem. They weren't ate up, I even later tried to warm them up and put enchilada sauce on them as they have similar ingredients as my enchiladas, it didn't save them. I won't keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I mixed the jalapenos and black olives in with the cream cheese mixture and it worked really well. Next time I will use flour tortillas, about 1/4 of the jalapenos (they were way too spicy for my taste!) and maybe add a little shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
My friends request I make these all the time! But I use flour tortillas instead of corn. Sometimes I serve with a side of salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
These are good but I do not put the jalapenos in them. Too spicy for me but I do use a whole package of taco seasoning for one container of cream cheese. Otherwise they are a little too bland. My kids love these & they are quick & easy! I use low fat cream chz, just bring it to room temp. Thanks Melody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I added a few less jalapenos and also about 1/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese. I also increased the olives. Still I will rate this recipe high even though I made some changes because the basic flavors are just super! Oh yes, I also used sundried tomato tortillas which made a more festive appearance and melded well with the flavors in the spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
ICK!! Easy enough to make, but had a weird flavor. Too hot and too strong tasting. I had some friends over, we tasted them then threw the batch out. Blah! Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Yum! Melody, everyone loved these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I "beg to differ" my family really enjoyed this appetizer! B.J.Moore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States